The Controversy of Capital Punishment: Background information when reading Confessions of an Innocent Man

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Confessions of an Innocent Man

by David R. Dow

Confessions of an Innocent Man by David R. Dow X
Confessions of an Innocent Man by David R. Dow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2019, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 31, 2020, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Controversy of Capital Punishment

This article relates to Confessions of an Innocent Man

Print Review

Lethal injection room at San Quentin PrisonIn David R. Dow's thriller, Confessions of an Innocent Man, the protagonist is sentenced to death for the murder of his wife. Since the murder is committed in Texas, one of the 30 U.S. states that still allows capital punishment, he is sent directly to death row. There he awaits his execution among the 200+ other residents. From 1976 to December 2018, some 550 prisoners have been executed in Texas alone. (In 1972, in the ruling of Furman v. Georgia, the Supreme Court declared capital punishment unconstitutional, but this was negated by the 1976 ruling of Gregg v. Georgia, and states gradually began reincorporating the death penalty into their legal systems in the following years).

The total number of executions nationwide have ebbed as states are slowly abandoning the practice. (There were 98 executions in the U.S. in 1998, but only 25 in 2018.) In March 2019, California governor Gavin Newsom declared a moratorium on the death penalty. Saying the death penalty is "ineffective, irreversible and immoral," Newsom granted reprieves to all 737 Californians awaiting executions – sparing the lives of a quarter of the country's death row inmates as long as he is governor.

The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) has much to say on the subject:

The death penalty in America is a broken process from start to finish. Death sentences are predicted not by the heinousness of the crime but by the poor quality of the defense lawyers, the race of the accused or the victim, and the county and state in which the crime occurred. From 1976 to 2015, 1,392 executions occurred in the United States, and 995 of them took place in the South. Time and time again, we have proven that the criminal justice system fails to protect the innocent and persons with serious mental disabilities and illnesses from execution. Even the administration of executions is utterly flawed: Every method of execution comes with an intolerably high risk of extreme pain and torture.

They are not alone. Amnesty International calls the death penalty "the ultimate cruel, inhuman and degrading punishment." It is also worth noting that the death penalty costs tax payers exorbitant sums of money. For example, each death penalty case in Texas comes with a $2.3 million price tag, which is roughly three times the cost of imprisoning someone in maximum security for 40 years.

Perhaps the greatest argument against the death penalty is the number of innocent people sentenced to death row. A 2014 study by statisticians and legal experts from the University of Michigan found that 4% of people given the death penalty are/were innocent. Innocent people have definitely been executed, including Carlos DeLuna, convicted of murder in 1983 and executed in 1989. Another man later confessed to the crime with which DeLuna had been charged. Jesse Tafero was likewise convicted of murder in 1976 and executed in 1990, but evidence later came to light indicating mistakes in the investigation. His co-defendant's sentence was overturned in 1992, but this was too late to save Tafero. In the years before DNA testing, such mistakes were even easier to make, and the consequences were grave. The protagonist in Dow's novel narrowly escapes execution at the very last minute, but plenty of real life accused criminals have not been so fortunate.

Lethal injection room at San Quentin Prison, courtesy of The Crime Report

Article by Donna Chavez

This "beyond the book article" relates to Confessions of an Innocent Man. It first ran in the April 17, 2019 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.