Mary Shelley, Lord Byron, and the Writing of Frankenstein: Background information when reading In Byron's Wake

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In Byron's Wake

The Turbulent Lives of Lord Byron's Wife and Daughter: Annabella Milbanke and Ada Lovelace

by Miranda Seymour

In Byron's Wake by Miranda Seymour X
In Byron's Wake by Miranda Seymour
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Nov 2018, 560 pages

    Paperback:
    Nov 2020, 568 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rose Rankin
Buy This Book

About this Book

Mary Shelley, Lord Byron, and the Writing of Frankenstein

This article relates to In Byron's Wake

Print Review

Cover of Penguin Classics edition of Mary Shelley's <i>Frankenstein</i> Great art frequently evolves among talented people who share ideas with each other and who challenge themselves to greater and greater heights in the presence of fellow creatives. This was the case with one of the most famous works of Western literature, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. Devised among her literary companions (including Lord Byron) and refined and edited over time, Shelley's creation benefited from her unconventional lifestyle and experience, and it remains one of the triumphs of the Romantic period.

In 1816, Mary Godwin was a 19-year-old unwed mother living with her lover Percy Shelley, with whom she had caused a major scandal in London society when he abandoned his wife and children to live with Mary and her half-sister, Claire. That year, the couple and their small entourage left England for Geneva, Switzerland, and in the summer they were joined by Lord Byron and John Polidori; the former a famous poet, the latter a struggling writer and Byron's physician. Claire had become romantically involved with the infamous Byron, whose ill-fated marriage had recently collapsed into scandal and recrimination. Needless to say, in 1816 all members of this literary circle were glad to escape England for a time.

Shunned by the English community vacationing in Geneva, the motley group rented a beautiful lakeside villa, where they hunkered down for a few weeks as unusually bad weather plagued the area. As a diversion from the rainy day boredom, Lord Byron suggested that everyone present should write a "ghost story," and Mary Shelley penned the first draft of Frankenstein in response. Byron himself didn't produce any notable ghost story that summer, but he, Shelley and Polidori believed Mary's tale was exceptional.

It is claimed that Mary's idea for this masterpiece came to her in a dream, though this is probably apocryphal. In the story, Dr. Frankenstein pieces together a man from human body parts and brings him to life. First told from the doctor's perspective, the narrative then shifts to the point of view of the creature, who goes in search of his "father." But the scientist pushes away his creation, and enraged, the creature kills all the people his father loves, an acting out of fury based on parental rejection. This was an issue Mary knew all too well, as her own father had disowned her when she and Shelley began their scandalous relationship.

After returning from Switzerland with Shelley, Claire, and their children, Mary added another layer to the story in the character of Robert Walton, a redeeming subplot alongside the destructive choices of the other characters. Walton listens to the reasoned arguments of his sister and abandons his quixotic search for the North Pole, likely saving the lives of the men under his command. This nesting of stories and perspectives results in a rich exploration of human nature. As Charlotte Gordon explains in her biography of Mary Shelley and her mother, Mary Wollstonecraft, "it gave Mary the opportunity to create a complex narrative that asked far more of her readers than if she had written a simple parable against the dangers of invention." It also reflected Mary's dysfunctional relationship with her father, her feelings about the legacy of her famous mother, who died giving birth to her, and her status as a social outcast.

Initially published in 1818, Mary revised Frankenstein and it was reissued in 1831. This version, which is the one most commonly read today, includes extended ruminations and different monologues by the characters that magnify the darker themes, like disillusionment with society. Mary had endured many hardships in the intervening years — harsh criticism of her writing, widely accepted accusations that Percy Shelley wrote the book, and the painful loss of children, her husband and many more loved ones. Inspired in the company of fellow writers and capturing the turmoil of her own life, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein remains a brilliant and complex contribution to the canon of Romantic literature.

Cover of Penguin Classics edition of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein Penguin Random House

Filed under Books and Authors

Article by Rose Rankin

This "beyond the book article" relates to In Byron's Wake. It originally ran in January 2019 and has been updated for the November 2020 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.