Celebrity Status: Books about Fame: Background information when reading An Absolutely Remarkable Thing

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing

by Hank Green

An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green X
An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2018, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2019, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Erin Szczechowski
Buy This Book

About this Book

Celebrity Status: Books about Fame

This article relates to An Absolutely Remarkable Thing

Print Review

As one half of the famed Vlogbrothers (a popular YouTube channel with over three million subscribers), Hank Green is no stranger to internet celebrity, albeit perhaps not quite at the level that his protagonist, April May, achieves in his debut novel An Absolutely Remarkable Thing. Though Green's debut is aimed at adult readers (with cross-over appeal for younger readers), the theme of sudden and reluctant fame is common in young adult titles. For example:

Cover of <i>Airhead</i> by Meg CabotAirhead by Meg Cabot: After tomboy Emerson Watts is swapped into the body of supermodel Nikki Howard, her life is turned upside down, and she must learn to deal with all of the ups and (major) downs of fame. From The Princess Diaries to All-American Girl to Teen Idol, bestselling author Meg Cabot certainly loves the suddenly famous trope, but Airhead adds a darker layer than most of her books through the mystery that surrounds Emerson's sudden body swap.

Cover of <i>Tash Hearts Tolstoy</i> by Kathryn OrmsbeeTash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee: Just like April May, the protagonist of Ormsbee's novel, Tash Zelenka, has a video go viral after her web series "Unhappy Families" becomes a sudden hit. Fans of Anna Karenina will enjoy the book, as "Unhappy Families" is an adaption of the Russian classic.

Cover of <i>Audrey, Wait!</i> by Robin BenwayAudrey, Wait! by Robin Benway: In Audrey, Wait! the main character gains sudden notoriety not because of something that she has done, but as the result of a song written about her. After her ex's song about their breakup hits the top of the charts, Audrey finds herself swarmed by paparazzi, and the tabloids obsessed with her every action. While fame might seem glamorous, this novel explores its many downsides.

Cover of <i>Waste of Space</i> by Gina DamicoWaste of Space by Gina Damico: Although reality TV shows are finding more and more creative ways to get views, the reality television premise in Waste of Space takes this trend to a new dimension, blasting ten teens off into space and allowing the audience to watch the aftermath. If you enjoy the science fiction elements in An Absolutely Remarkable Thing, then Waste of Space is definitely the one to check out next.

Cover of <i>Can't Look Away</i> by Donna CoonerCan't Look Away by Donna Cooner: In Can't Look Away, Torrey Grey is famous for her popular vlogs on beauty. However, when her sister is killed in an accident, strangers online begin to blame Torrey. Just like An Absolutely Remarkable Thing, Can't Look Away focuses not just on what it feels like to be famous, but what it feels like to be infamous.

Cover of <i>Ready Player One</i> by Ernest ClineReady Player One by Ernest Cline: Cline's novel will appeal to young and older readers alike, and concerns a teenage protagonist, Wade Watts, seeking to win a cash prize by competing in a virtual reality video game contest. As Wade excels at solving the puzzles in the game, his notoriety as a player makes him the target of real life death threats as others seek to push him out of the running for the contest.

Filed under Reading Lists

This "beyond the book article" relates to An Absolutely Remarkable Thing. It originally ran in October 2018 and has been updated for the July 2019 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
    by Zhuqing Li

    A beautifully woven family memoir that coalesces into a vivid history of two very different Chinas.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.