Political Puppetry: Background information when reading Your Duck Is My Duck

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Your Duck Is My Duck

Stories

by Deborah Eisenberg

Your Duck Is My Duck by Deborah Eisenberg X
Your Duck Is My Duck by Deborah Eisenberg
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2018, 240 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2019, 240 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts
Buy This Book

About this Book

Political Puppetry

This article relates to Your Duck Is My Duck

Print Review

While staying at an island resort, the protagonist of the title story of Deborah Eisenberg's Your Duck is My Duck meets another artist, a puppeteer who is crafting a performance about their benefactors' mistreatment of the island's farmers. Eisenberg is drawing from a long history of puppetry as a political tool wielded by artists and activists to criticize the upper/ruling class.

Punch and JudyThe transition from a rural/farming economy to the beginning of industrial capitalism in England coincided with the English Civil War and the rule of Oliver Cromwell, who served as Lord Protector after the execution of King Charles I. Cromwell, a Puritan, shut down the theaters in 1642, believing them to be dens of vice. He was also fully aware that plays frequently contained politically subversive messages. The theater ban, however, did not apply to puppetry, and consequently roving bands of puppet troupes were one of the few forms of popular entertainment for the eleven years of the Interregnum, which ended with Charles I's son being invited to return to England to become King Charles II. The first appearance of the puppet "Punch" (of later "Punch and Judy" fame) can be traced to this time. Punch was a "common man" hero that the audience could identify with, and he criticized authority and law enforcement figures (like police, judges, and government officials, including the king).

In the early 20th century, radical puppetry was revived by artists of the absurdist Dada movement as commentary on the inanity of war. In 1919, the German artists George Grosz, Oskar Kokoschka, and John Heartfield enacted politically-tinged puppet shows in their basement. These performances were ultimately shut down by German political officials bent on censoring free expression and criticism of the government.

Puppetry was widely embraced by the communist/worker's rights movements in Europe in the 20th century as well. In Russia, also in the early 20th century, the "Blue Blouse" and "Red Petrouchka Collective" theater troupes were very popular, and the latter introduced an anarchic character called Petrouchka who was essentially the Russian version of "Punch." This character's more radical characteristics were suppressed by the Soviet state, which then created its own, less controversial version of Petrouchka.

Bread and PuppetIn America, the 1936 May Day celebration in New York City turned into an anti-fascist demonstration when a group of artists, including painter Jackson Pollack, crafted floats and giant puppets for the parade, including "a giant skeleton backpack puppet representing Nazi Germany." Perhaps the most famous example of political puppetry in America, however, is the Bread & Puppet Theater, founded in 1962 by the artist Peter Schumann. This troupe gained attention for their eye-catching performances with giant paper-mache puppets that criticized the Vietnam War. In the 1990s, the troupe's annual festival attracted tens of thousands of attendees. They have since held protests against the proliferation of nuclear power, the war in Afghanistan among many others, and even protested at the 2000 Republican National Convention in Philadelphia.

Punch and Judy show in Dorset England, 2006.
Bread and Puppet show in Glover, Vermont, mid 1980s.

Filed under Music and the Arts

Article by Lisa Butts

This "beyond the book article" relates to Your Duck Is My Duck. It originally ran in October 2018 and has been updated for the June 2019 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.