Ancient Cartography: Background information when reading The Map of Salt and Stars

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Map of Salt and Stars

by Zeyn Joukhadar

The Map of Salt and Stars by Zeyn Joukhadar X
The Map of Salt and Stars by Zeyn Joukhadar
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2018, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2019, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Renner
Buy This Book

About this Book

Ancient Cartography

This article relates to The Map of Salt and Stars

Print Review

Imago MundiMapmaking has been a vital part of human curiosity for millennia. The oldest known world map is the Babylonian Map of the World, also known as the Imago Mundi, which dates back to the 5th century BCE. This early map is not alone. Archaeologists have found many map-like representations in caves, some of which even show images of star patterns ancient people saw in the night sky. And there is the possibility of a much older extant map in the form of a wall painting found in 1961 in Turkey which is believed to be more than 8,000 years old and is generally considered to be either the earliest landscape painting or the earliest known map.

Maps have come a long way since then as humanity has explored the world, discovered new media for art and pioneered technology for digital cartography. While maps featuring satellite images have now become commonplace, cartographers and explorers once took the helm in cartography – literally.

Muhammad Al-IdrisiDuring the Middle Ages, Muslim scholars, building on the work of their forbearers like the Roman mathematician Ptolemy, made great leaps forward in cartography. Scholar-adventurers like Ibn Batutta and Muhammad al-Idrisi combined the study of astronomy and geometry with the information they found with ships' navigators in order to create the most accurate maps the world had seen up until that point. Among their major contributions, the Muslim scholars brought the concept of meridians and parallels into broader use. This application of lines on maps we all take for granted helped build the modern science of cartography as we know it.

Al-Idrisi, a central character in Jennifer Zeynab Joukhadar's The Map of Salt and Stars was born in the year 1100 in Ceuta, Spain, in a time when Spain was under Moorish rule. He soon ventured out into the world, visiting nearby countries such as Portugal and North Africa, as well as far flung ones like Anatolia and Hungary. During much of al-Idrisi's life, "Al-Andalus," the name of Moorish Spain, was turbulent and war-torn and so he and many of his contemporaries fled to Sicily. Being at the heart of the Mediterranean positioned Sicily as the ideal base for a mapmaker. Merchants, sailors and explorers of many nations passed through, sharing knowledge of their travels.

Tabula RogerianaIn 1138, King Roger II of Sicily commissioned al-Idrisi to compose the most accurate map of the ancient world. The Tabula Rogeriana is the end result of al-Idrisi's 18 years of work at the Sicilian court. The map is inscribed in Arabic and Latin and includes all of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. The version of the map given to King Roger II was engraved on a massive 300 pound disk of silver. Al-Idrisi also wrote a book with the map which details and comments on its illustrations, including the climates and cultures of the illustrated regions. The book's Arabic name نزهة المشتاق في اختراق الآفاق‎, literally translates to "the book of pleasant journeys into faraway lands."

Imago Mundi courtesy of www.geolounge.com
Al-Idrisi
Tabula Rogeriana

Filed under Music and the Arts

Article by Rebecca Renner

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Map of Salt and Stars. It originally ran in June 2018 and has been updated for the March 2019 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    by Ellen Cooney
    In One Night Two Souls Went Walking, we follow a young interfaith chaplain as she carries out her ...
  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.