The Origins of Human-Canine Friendship: Background information when reading The Friend

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Friend

by Sigrid Nunez

The Friend by Sigrid Nunez X
The Friend by Sigrid Nunez
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Feb 2018, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Natalie Vaynberg

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Origins of Human-Canine Friendship

Print Review

Sigrid Nunez's The Friend reminds us of the power and beauty of the human-canine friendship. Many of us have witnessed the relationship first-hand – our dogs "listen" to us, they comfort us when we are sad and they are the first to greet us when we come home – but where and when did it originate? How did the gray wolf become "man's best friend"?

Early DomesticationSurprisingly, this is a highly contentious question, still raising hackles and stirring up arguments across the global geneticist community.

For many years, there were two dominant theories on dog domestication – one is passive, wolves simply came around human encampments to feed off of scraps and stayed around, domesticating themselves. The other theory suggests active domestication – humans chose and cared for wolf pups, training them to stay close and eventually lose their skittishness.

Early DomesticationMore recently, a third theory arose – wolves and humans both evolved in a symbiotic relationship, which resulted in the connection we know and love today. Humans followed wolves on the hunt, learning better technique, better routes; yet wolves also understood that humans could be helpful to them, feeding them scraps when prey was thin. There is something familiar about this theory – humans and wolves learned from each other and became better together – isn't this how dog owners might describe their relationship with their pets?

Soldier and his DogAside from the details of domestication itself, there is also much debate around when and where this process occurred. While some contend that the earliest domestication could not have been earlier than 14,000 years ago, others suggest it could have been as far back as 33,000. The current controversy on the topic, however, posits that there may have been more than one instance of domestication. It seems that there was once an Ancient Western Dog and an Ancient Eastern Dog. The argument for the Eastern Dog seems fairly secure – fossilized canine DNA in southern China shows the most genetic diversity of any found. However, when the migration of the Eastern Dog was traced to the West, new findings revealed another set of canine DNA, entirely different from the first – dogs had already existed in the West.

Reading DogWhy is this so important? Why is it a topic of debate? Well, for one thing, the relationship between humans and dogs has always been highly fascinating, we love to read about our canine companions and we love to discover more about their origins, their motivations, their thoughts. But more than that, it is important to remember that the dog was the first animal to be domesticated and domestication changed the world. Had humans never domesticated animals, the agricultural revolution – the single most important shift in human history – would never have occurred. So, yes, dogs are "man's best friend", but they were also once the heralds of our unimaginably ambitious future.

Two illustrations of the evolution from wolf to dog, courtesy of www.newtonsapple.org.uk
A combat tracker and his dog
Reading dog, courtesy of B.A.R.K.

Article by Natalie Vaynberg

This article is from the February 7, 2018 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.