Familial Co-Authors Writing Under One Pen Name: Background information when reading The Last Mrs. Parrish

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Mrs. Parrish

by Liv Constantine

The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine X
The Last Mrs. Parrish by Liv Constantine
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Oct 2017, 400 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2018, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Davida Chazan
Buy This Book

About this Book

Familial Co-Authors Writing Under One Pen Name

This article relates to The Last Mrs. Parrish

Print Review

According to their website, "Liv Constantine is the pen name of sisters Lynne Constantine and Valerie Constantine." Hearing this piqued my curiosity regarding, not simply literary collaborations (there are tons of those), but writers who collaborate and then publish their fictional works under a single pseudonym--and in particular writers who are related to each other. Here are some famous related co-authors who write under a single pen name:

Lars KeplerThe first on the list is the duo Nicci French. This is the pseudonym of the married British team Nicci Gerrard and Sean French, who have written many very popular psychological thrillers. The historical crime writer Michael Gregorio is actually the husband and wife team of English teacher Michael G. Jacob and philosophy teacher Daniela De Gregorio, who live in Spoleto, Italy. Another wedded team, this one from the USA, is Judith Barnard and Michael Fain, who published 11 novels as Judith Michael. While the aforementioned couples combined their names to form their pseudonyms, Swedish couple Alexander Ahndoril and Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril went a step further and created a whole new name - writing their mysteries as Lars Kepler.

P. J. ParishBeing married to your co-author is one thing, but what about blood relations, like the Constantine sisters? Ellery Queen was the pen name of two cousins, Daniel Nathan (professionally known as Frederic Dannay) and Emanuel Benjamin Lepofsky. Initially, they used the pseudonym Manfred Bennington Lee for their novels and short stories about a fictional detective character named Ellery Queen, but later they chose their detective's name as their pen name. The cousins were also responsible for four novels published under the name Barnaby Ross, ghostwritten by Don Tracy, but controlled and edited by the cousins.

P. J. ParishE.D. Gerard is the earliest sibling duo here. This is the collaborative pen name of the Scottish sisters Emily and Dorothea Gerard, who wrote novels together in the late 1880s. The British Isabel Meredith is the author of the 1903 novel A Girl Among the Anarchists. However, this is actually the pseudonym of Helen and Olivia Rossetti, who were the daughters of William Michael Rossetti and nieces of Dante Gabriel Rossetti. P. J. Parrish are also two sisters – Detroit born Kelly Nichols (née Montee) and Kristy Montee – who write the Louis Kincaid series of mystery thriller novels. Perri O'Shaughnessy is the pen name for two sisters, Mary and Pamela O'Shaughnessy, who write the Nina Reilly legal thrillers and live in Northern California. Finally, there is the mother-daughter team of Patricia (P.J.) and Traci Lambrecht, who wrote award-winning mystery and thriller novels together as P.J. Tracy up until P.J's death in 2016.

P. J. TracyIt seems the most popular genres of choice for collaborative works are the darker ones – crime, psychological, mystery and adventure. If anyone knows other related writers collaborating and using single pseudonyms, I'd love to hear about them!

Lars Kepler
Ellery Queen team
P. J. Parrish
P.J. Tracy

Article by Davida Chazan

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Last Mrs. Parrish. It originally ran in November 2017 and has been updated for the July 2018 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...
  • Book Jacket: The Water Dancer
    The Water Dancer
    by Ta-Nehisi Coates
    For close to two decades, Ta-Nehisi Coates has been two writers. There's the celebrated essayist and...

Readers Recommend

Book Club
Book Jacket
The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
by Kim Michele Richardson

A story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the MĂ©tro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.