Books on Adoption: Background information when reading Little Fires Everywhere

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Little Fires Everywhere

by Celeste Ng

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng X
Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2017, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2019, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Erin Szczechowski
Buy This Book

About this Book

Books on Adoption

This article relates to Little Fires Everywhere

Print Review

In Little Fires Everywhere, an intense custody battle divides the idyllic suburban town of Shaker Heights, Ohio, into two when Bebe Chow, a Chinese immigrant, attempts to regain the rights to her daughter. The baby is now living with a white family after Bebe was forced to abandon her child during a period of desperation and poverty. While adoption alone is rarely the central theme of most novels, it can add new dimensions to the characters, spark plot points, and raise important questions about morality and identity. Below are five books that approach adoption in different ways.

Books on Adoption

Girls in Trouble by Caroline Leavitt
Set in 1987, this novel centers around an "open" adoption. After Sara's lover Danny learns she is pregnant, he splits, leaving her to deal with the aftermath alone. Sara gives up the baby, Anne, but visits the new parents often – too often. Although Sara wants her baby back, the new family isn't willing to give little Anne up. Both Girls in Trouble and Little Fires Everywhere explore what happens when a mom who gives up her child wants that child back.

White Oleander by Janet Fitch
While this critically acclaimed novel doesn't center around adoption per se, it does focus on foster homes. After her mother is imprisoned for murder, Astrid travels through a series of LA foster homes, with each new home transporting Astrid and the reader along a journey fraught with danger and self-discovery. Although adoption and foster homes are two entirely different concepts, in either circumstance, children must learn to adapt to new surroundings.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
While Wuthering Heights is not focused on the theme, Heathcliff's adoption by the Earnshaws forms the backdrop of the story, and the often cruel treatment of Heathcliff by members of his new family inform his character's development growing up.

The Giver by Lois Lowry
This classic dystopian tale takes place in a community where, technically, everyone is adopted, as birthmothers provide the children who are then distributed to family units. While a children's book, The Giver explores relatively dark themes, and, towards the latter half, begins to investigate the relationship between parent and child, infant bonding, and familial love.

Digging to America by Anne Tyler
This book features two couples who meet at an airport, each waiting to adopt a baby from Korea. Just like Little Fires Everywhere, this novel touches on interracial adoption, although Digging to America explores what happens after the babies are brought home.

Filed under Reading Lists

This "beyond the book article" relates to Little Fires Everywhere. It originally ran in September 2017 and has been updated for the May 2019 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
    by Zhuqing Li

    A beautifully woven family memoir that coalesces into a vivid history of two very different Chinas.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.