A Van Gogh Reading List: Background information when reading Vincent and Theo

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Vincent and Theo

The Van Gogh Brothers

by Deborah Heiligman

Vincent and Theo by Deborah Heiligman X
Vincent and Theo by Deborah Heiligman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2017, 464 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2019, 464 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

A Van Gogh Reading List

This article relates to Vincent and Theo

Print Review

Deborah Heiligman's Vincent and Theo draws on the hundreds of letters that passed between the Van Gogh brothers. There are various editions of Vincent's letters, including a 2009 version endorsed by the Van Gogh Museum that contains all Van Gogh's letters to his brother Theo. The letters between Theo and his wife, Johanna, are also available in translation as Brief Happiness (1999), and Jo left a short memoir of Vincent.

Here are four more books, not limited to the young adult genre, that allow for further reflection and/or speculation about Vincent van Gogh's career and character.

Sunflowers by Sheramy Bundrick

Sunflowers A young prostitute seeking temporary refuge from the brothel, Rachel awakens in a beautiful garden in Arles, France, to discover she is being sketched by a red-haired man in a yellow straw hat. This is the eccentric painter Vincent van Gogh, and their meeting marks the beginning of a remarkable relationship. He arrives at their first assignation with a bouquet of wildflowers and a request to paint her, and before long a deep, intense attachment grows between them. But Vincent is as enslaved to the demons of his own mind as Rachel is to those of her past, and he soon makes a strange and violent decision.

Let Me Tell You about a Man I Knew by Susan Fletcher

Let Me Tell You about a Man I Knew This historical novel centers on the year that Vincent Van Gogh spent at the French mental hospital of Saint-Paul-de-Mausole after he cut off his ear (1889–90). It is told, however, from the perspective of the asylum warden's wife, Jeanne Trabuc. Now 55 and with three grown sons, Jeanne fears that life's adventures and sensual pleasures are over for her. Yet a friendship with this volatile new Dutchman makes her think she might reclaim an outlook of excited anticipation. This is a compelling picture of women's circumscribed lives in the late nineteenth century, perfect for readers of Tracy Chevalier's The Virgin Blue and Barbara Vreeland's Lisette's List.

Vincent by Barbara Stok

Vincent This biography is in the form of a graphic novel. It focuses on the time Van Gogh spent in the south of France. He settled in Arles, staying in a hotel, and then in a large rental house he hoped to turn into an artists' colony; he temporarily attracted Paul Gauguin before driving him away with his workaholic ways and his temper. In letters to Theo back in Paris, Van Gogh details his progress and tells of his fondness for the Provence scenery. Stok depicts Van Gogh as a misunderstood genius and captures the warm colors of the French countryside.

Touched with Fire: Manic-Depressive Illness and the Artistic Temperament by Kay Redfield Jamison

Touched with Fire The volatile intensity associated with the artistic temperament was once thought to be a symptom of genius or eccentricity peculiar to artists, writers, and musicians. Jamison's work, based on her study as a clinical psychologist and researcher in mood disorders, reveals that many artists subject to exalted highs and despairing lows were in fact engaged in a struggle with clinically identifiable manic-depressive illness. She presents proof of the biological foundations of this disease and applies what is known about the illness to the lives and work of some of the world's greatest artists, including Lord Byron, Van Gogh, and Virginia Woolf.

Filed under Reading Lists

Article by Rebecca Foster

This "beyond the book article" relates to Vincent and Theo. It originally ran in May 2017 and has been updated for the October 2019 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of the Flower Fragrant Garden
    by Zhuqing Li

    A beautifully woven family memoir that coalesces into a vivid history of two very different Chinas.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.