A Van Gogh Reading List: Background information when reading Vincent and Theo

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Vincent and Theo

The Van Gogh Brothers

by Deborah Heiligman

Vincent and Theo by Deborah Heiligman X
Vincent and Theo by Deborah Heiligman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Apr 2017, 464 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
A Van Gogh Reading List

Print Review

Deborah Heiligman's Vincent and Theo draws on the hundreds of letters that passed between the Van Gogh brothers. There are various editions of Vincent's letters, including a 2009 version endorsed by the Van Gogh Museum that contains all Van Gogh's letters to his brother Theo. The letters between Theo and his wife, Johanna, are also available in translation as Brief Happiness (1999), and Jo left a short memoir of Vincent.

Here are four more books, not limited to the young adult genre, that allow for further reflection and/or speculation about Vincent van Gogh's career and character.

Sunflowers by Sheramy Bundrick

Sunflowers A young prostitute seeking temporary refuge from the brothel, Rachel awakens in a beautiful garden in Arles, France, to discover she is being sketched by a red-haired man in a yellow straw hat. This is the eccentric painter Vincent van Gogh, and their meeting marks the beginning of a remarkable relationship. He arrives at their first assignation with a bouquet of wildflowers and a request to paint her, and before long a deep, intense attachment grows between them. But Vincent is as enslaved to the demons of his own mind as Rachel is to those of her past, and he soon makes a strange and violent decision.

Let Me Tell You about a Man I Knew by Susan Fletcher

Let Me Tell You about a Man I Knew This historical novel centers on the year that Vincent Van Gogh spent at the French mental hospital of Saint-Paul-de-Mausole after he cut off his ear (1889–90). It is told, however, from the perspective of the asylum warden's wife, Jeanne Trabuc. Now 55 and with three grown sons, Jeanne fears that life's adventures and sensual pleasures are over for her. Yet a friendship with this volatile new Dutchman makes her think she might reclaim an outlook of excited anticipation. This is a compelling picture of women's circumscribed lives in the late nineteenth century, perfect for readers of Tracy Chevalier's The Virgin Blue and Barbara Vreeland's Lisette's List.

Vincent by Barbara Stok

Vincent This biography is in the form of a graphic novel. It focuses on the time Van Gogh spent in the south of France. He settled in Arles, staying in a hotel, and then in a large rental house he hoped to turn into an artists' colony; he temporarily attracted Paul Gauguin before driving him away with his workaholic ways and his temper. In letters to Theo back in Paris, Van Gogh details his progress and tells of his fondness for the Provence scenery. Stok depicts Van Gogh as a misunderstood genius and captures the warm colors of the French countryside.

Touched with Fire: Manic-Depressive Illness and the Artistic Temperament by Kay Redfield Jamison

Touched with Fire The volatile intensity associated with the artistic temperament was once thought to be a symptom of genius or eccentricity peculiar to artists, writers, and musicians. Jamison's work, based on her study as a clinical psychologist and researcher in mood disorders, reveals that many artists subject to exalted highs and despairing lows were in fact engaged in a struggle with clinically identifiable manic-depressive illness. She presents proof of the biological foundations of this disease and applies what is known about the illness to the lives and work of some of the world's greatest artists, including Lord Byron, Van Gogh, and Virginia Woolf.

Article by Rebecca Foster

This article is from the May 3, 2017 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Word Is Murder
    The Word Is Murder
    by Anthony Horowitz
    A wealthy widow enters a London funeral home to make arrangements for her own funeral. Six hours ...
  • Book Jacket: Call Me American
    Call Me American
    by Abdi Nor Iftin
    As a boy growing up in Mogadishu, the capital of Somalia, Abdi Nor Iftin loved watching action ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...
  • Book Jacket
    Driving Miss Norma
    by Ramie Liddle, Tim Bauerschmidt
    In my cultural life, I've met and been awed by two Normas: The demanding, clueless, fiercely ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Salt Houses by Hala Alyan

From a dazzling new literary voice, a debut novel about a Palestinian family caught between present and past.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    A Place for Us
    by Fatima Farheen Mirza

    A deeply moving story of love, identity and belonging--the first novel from Sarah Jessica Parker's new imprint.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win If You See Me, Don't Say Hi

If You See Me, Don't Say Hi by Neel Patel

Patel's stories introduce a bold and timely new literary voice.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A P Saved I A P E

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.