Margaret Fishback: The Inspiration for Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk: Background information when reading Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

by Kathleen Rooney

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney X
Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2017, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2018, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Margaret Fishback: The Inspiration for Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

This article relates to Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

Print Review

The titular character of Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk is modeled after real-life ad copywriter and poet, Margaret Fishback.

Margaret Fishback In a detailed biography of Fishback at the Poetry Foundation, Lillian Boxfish author Kathleen Rooney offers us a fascinating glimpse of a woman who was far ahead of her time, taking to print to declare that she didn't need a husband to support her. Starting out as a school teacher, Fishback took on a job at the lower rungs of copywriting at the prestigious department store R. H. Macy's (today referred to simply as Macy's) but quickly rose through the ranks, eventually becoming chief copywriter. She was a highly paid woman in the advertising world of the 1930s, a time when the Great Depression firmly had its grip over the United States.

The field of advertising, as most others, was dominated by men. Yet Fishback, with her whimsical yet succinct rhymes, succeeded in selling products to other women through her advertising.

A memorable ad for Macy's scotch whisky used the store's tagline "It's Smart To be Thrifty" to good effect (as an aside, while today Macy's is known as a more upscale department store, in the '30s it was good policy to emphasize thrift):

When you want a wee snifty ... / It's smart to be thrifty."
We'd charge for such a noble drink,
York House is called THE PEOPLE'S CHOICE.
Come lift your lubricated voice
With ours, in praise of Macy's Brand
Of Scotch! It's glorious! It's grand!
And popular as all get-out
of that there's not the slightest doubt.

A copywriter by day, Fishback penned poetry by night with her verses appearing in prestigious publications such as The New Yorker and The New York Times.

After years of independence, in her 30s, Fishback married the principal rug buyer at Macy's, Alberto Gastone Antolini. They had a son but the marriage did not last. The demands of wedded life and motherhood lead Fishback to quit her job at Macy's. Instead she freelanced for many years doing work for General Foods and Clairol among others.

As time went on, it became more difficult for Fishback to place her poetry as the jaunty rhyme-like style she favored slowly faded out of fashion. Fishback died at the age of 85 at her farm in Camden, Maine.

Picture of Margaret Fishback by G. Maillard Keslere and courtesy of St. Martin's Press

This "beyond the book article" relates to Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk. It originally ran in January 2017 and has been updated for the April 2018 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.