MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Christian Science: Background information when reading History of Wolves

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

History of Wolves

by Emily Fridlund

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund X
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2017, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2017, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts
Buy This Book

Christian Science

This article relates to History of Wolves

Print Review

Christian Science was founded in 1894 by Mary Baker Eddy as a means of embracing "primitive Christianity and its lost element of healing." The foundational text is Eddy's Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, published in 1875, which Emily Fridlund references several times in History of Wolves.

The administrative headquarters of the Christian Science church in Boston, MassachusettsMary Baker Eddy (1821-1910) grew up in a family of devout Puritans, and her early life was beset by hardship. She was frequently ill as a child, and as a young woman she lost both her brother and husband in a short span. Beginning in 1862, Eddy was in correspondence with Phineas P. Quimby, proponent of an early form of homeopathy. She combined Quimby's beliefs with her own religious convictions to create Science and Health and launch the Church of Christ, Scientist. Eddy spread her message via lectures at Massachusetts Metaphysical College and sermons at Christian Science churches, successfully attracting many dissatisfied Protestants to the faith. Though in her own lifetime Eddy was viewed as a controversial figure, and her teachings denounced by many, contention against the Church hit a peak in the 1980s-90s due to a spate of legal issues.

There are about 1,100 Christian Science churches currently operating in the United States. Adherents believe in a literal interpretation of Jesus' New Testament assertion that "Whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing," i.e, performing miracles, though they eschew terms like "miracle" and "faith healing" and claim their beliefs are based in science. This "science" contends that people, having been made in God's image, are entirely spiritual beings, and anything physical, injuries, illness, etc., is a state of mind and not "real." As such, all that is required to be free of one's ailments is to think or pray oneself well again. According to the Church, these methods have been used to cure everything from cancer, to diabetes, to broken bones. Though they insist that members are not forbidden from seeking traditional medical care, in Science and Health Eddy claims that visiting a doctor is "inviting defeat."

Picture of administrative building of Christian Science church by Maksim

Article by Lisa Butts

This "beyond the book article" relates to History of Wolves. It originally ran in January 2017 and has been updated for the November 2017 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.