Christian Science: Background information when reading History of Wolves

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Discuss |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

History of Wolves

by Emily Fridlund

History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund X
History of Wolves by Emily Fridlund
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2017, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Nov 2017, 304 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Butts
Buy This Book

Christian Science

This article relates to History of Wolves

Print Review

Christian Science was founded in 1894 by Mary Baker Eddy as a means of embracing "primitive Christianity and its lost element of healing." The foundational text is Eddy's Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, published in 1875, which Emily Fridlund references several times in History of Wolves.

The administrative headquarters of the Christian Science church in Boston, MassachusettsMary Baker Eddy (1821-1910) grew up in a family of devout Puritans, and her early life was beset by hardship. She was frequently ill as a child, and as a young woman she lost both her brother and husband in a short span. Beginning in 1862, Eddy was in correspondence with Phineas P. Quimby, proponent of an early form of homeopathy. She combined Quimby's beliefs with her own religious convictions to create Science and Health and launch the Church of Christ, Scientist. Eddy spread her message via lectures at Massachusetts Metaphysical College and sermons at Christian Science churches, successfully attracting many dissatisfied Protestants to the faith. Though in her own lifetime Eddy was viewed as a controversial figure, and her teachings denounced by many, contention against the Church hit a peak in the 1980s-90s due to a spate of legal issues.

There are about 1,100 Christian Science churches currently operating in the United States. Adherents believe in a literal interpretation of Jesus' New Testament assertion that "Whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing," i.e, performing miracles, though they eschew terms like "miracle" and "faith healing" and claim their beliefs are based in science. This "science" contends that people, having been made in God's image, are entirely spiritual beings, and anything physical, injuries, illness, etc., is a state of mind and not "real." As such, all that is required to be free of one's ailments is to think or pray oneself well again. According to the Church, these methods have been used to cure everything from cancer, to diabetes, to broken bones. Though they insist that members are not forbidden from seeking traditional medical care, in Science and Health Eddy claims that visiting a doctor is "inviting defeat."

Picture of administrative building of Christian Science church by Maksim

Article by Lisa Butts

This "beyond the book article" relates to History of Wolves. It originally ran in January 2017 and has been updated for the November 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.