Trinacria: Background information when reading Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

by Mario Giordano

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions by Mario Giordano X
Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions by Mario Giordano
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2018, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2019, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Gary Presley
Buy This Book

About this Book

Trinacria

This article relates to Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Print Review

TrinacriaAuntie Poldi, in Mario Giordano's Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions, is intrigued when she encounters an unusual tattoo on the murder victim. It's Sicily's trinacria, an heraldic-style image whose origins linger in the shadows of Greek mythology.

Heraldry (the art of devising and displaying armorial insignia) may have begun on the battlefield as a means of identifying a rally point for warriors, or the warriors' allegiance. It's an easy assumption that heraldry could pre-date the written word and historical records. One royal house may have chosen lions rampant, for example, and another the fleur-de-lis, which are both emblems of nobility, bravery, and strength. There are dozens of these ancient emblems that first may have been identified with ethnic groups, then nations – think the Celtic knot, the cross, and the fylfot (a primitive swastika.) The trinacria, harkens back to the triskelion, an image consisting of three spirals which illustrate rotational symmetry. The triskelion is found in many early cultures. The earliest known use is in Malta around 4400–3600 BC, and it was also found in the astronomical calendar at the tomb of Newgrange in Ireland around 3200 BC, as well as on coins in Lycia (now the southern coast of Turkey) to name a few.

The mysterious trinacria makes a bold statement. The oddly surreal and darkly humorous three legs waving from the ramparts were sure to draw the eye and capture attention. It references the number three, evident by the three legs, and also a triangle. Glancing at a map, its evident that Sicily – the largest island in the Mediterranean – is roughly triangular in shape. Each leg stands stalwart on the seabed supporting the island's corners. It is believed that the Sicilians went one step further, adding Medusa's head to the national symbol, a simple enough choice once we recognize Medusa is the protector of Athena, Patron Goddess of Sicily.

While the trinacria's three legs represent Sicily, it also has other meanings when used in the context of other cultures. For example, the Isle of Man's emblem is very similar, but the three legs on the island's flag are said to signify the passage of the sun across the sky. The Isle of Man's trinacria has the three legs encased in armor, including spurs for the armored heels. Oddly, the Isle of Man is over 3,000 kilometers from Sicily. Perhaps commerce or a diplomatic mission lost to history resulted in the two places having the same emblem.

In 1943, the trinacria became part of the official flag of Sicily; a symbol of resistance and freedom from Mussolini's national socialism. Sicilians seem to owe their flag of the island to a man named Andrea Finocchiaro Aprile, head of Movimento per I'Indipendeza della Sicilia, a group who fought heroically against the Fascist dictator Mussolini and for the Allied cause in World War II.

Article by Gary Presley

This "beyond the book article" relates to Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions. It originally ran in March 2018 and has been updated for the February 2019 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Greek to Me
    Greek to Me
    by Mary Norris
    Mary Norris' Greek to Me received an overwhelmingly favorable response from our First Impression ...
  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.