The Brixton Riots: Background information when reading My Name Is Leon

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

My Name Is Leon

by Kit De Waal

My Name Is Leon by Kit De Waal X
My Name Is Leon by Kit De Waal
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2016, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2017, 304 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

The Brixton Riots

This article relates to My Name Is Leon

Print Review

Brixton RiotsWith his nappy black hair and dark complexion, the boy at the center of Kit de Waal's debut, My Name is Leon, is caught up in the middle of the racial tensions of 1981 South London. The biracial child has a nine-year-old's agenda, born of anger, and stumbles innocently into a roiling stew of grownup rage and frustration. The bigger snapshot of the day shows a fragile tinderbox of young Afro-Caribbean men who were unemployed, with lots of time on their hands, engaging in marginally legal and illegal activities for pocket change and something to do.

Brixton RiotsThese disenfranchised were the British-born sons and daughters of Caribbean immigrants who had settled in London after World War II. The young men, in particular, were suffering high unemployment after the economic troubles of the late 1970s. Additionally they were caught between dueling cultures; seen by many as enemies of Britain because they seemed to resist assimilation as they clung to West Indian music and traditions. The authorities, stymied for ways of coping with what appeared to be rampant crime and drug abuse, resurrected an ancient anti-vagrancy law that permitted police to stop and search anyone they suspected of a crime, black or white. However, black British men noticed they were being stopped and searched much more frequently than their white counterparts and began calling the police out on the racially discriminatory practice. At the upper levels of government, tempers flared as liberals and conservatives argued ideologies.

Brixton RiotsSuddenly, in April of 1981, the largely minority community of Brixton ignited. At the time the so-called Brixton Riots or Brixton Race Riots, depending on who you ask, set new precedents as far as levels of fury and destruction were concerned. Besides the massive economic losses due to vandalism and looting, dozens of innocent bystanders and almost 150 police officers were injured resulting in over 200 arrests. Worse, perhaps, than the cost to community wellbeing and property, was the way the fabric of the police/civilian relationship was rent.

Decades later gentrification has taken hold in Brixton, making it one of London's up-and-coming communities.

Police behind shields during Brixon Riots, courtesy of sirrobertpeel.wordpress.com
Police carrying man, courtesy of sirrobertpeel.wordpress.com
Police car on fire, courtesy of quiz.com

Filed under People, Eras & Events

Article by Donna Chavez

This "beyond the book article" relates to My Name Is Leon. It originally ran in September 2016 and has been updated for the July 2017 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...
  • Book Jacket: The Orchard
    The Orchard
    by David Hopen
    The protagonist of David Hopen's first novel, The Orchard, is 17-year-old Aryeh Eden, a Brooklyn boy...
  • Book Jacket: What Are You Going Through
    What Are You Going Through
    by Sigrid Nunez
    Shortly into What Are You Going Through by Sigrid Nunez, it becomes clear that the narrator is ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.