MLA Platinum Award Press Release

A Brief Recent History of Belarus: Background information when reading The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko

by Scott Stambach

The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko by Scott Stambach X
The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko by Scott Stambach
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2016, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

A Brief Recent History of Belarus

This article relates to The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko

Print Review

The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko deals with the aftermath of Chernobyl and is set in a hospital in Belarus.

While most of us think of Belarus as a part of the now fragmented Soviet Union, the country has a colorful history of being handed back and forth between Poland and Russia for centuries. Belarus was part of Poland (which borders Belarus on the West) until Poland was partitioned after a series of wars towards the end of the 18th century and Belarus became part of Russia. The early twentieth century saw more conflict. Taking advantage of Russia's preoccupation with the First World War, Belarus decided to break away and become independent while still under the protection of German forces.

A contemporary map of Belarus. It is bordered by Russia to the East, Poland to the West and Ukraine to the South. Unfortunately this newly established sovereignty, the Belarusian People's Republic, didn't last too long. With the Allied victory in WWI, Germany was forced to leave Belarus leaving it vulnerable to Russian attack. Russia invaded promptly and wrested the country back into its fold christening the country as the Belarusian Soviet Socialist Republic in 1919. Seizing an opportunity to right old wrongs, Poland in turn attacked and wrested part of Belarus back into its fold, the boundaries established by the Treaty of Riga of 1921.

These arrangements lasted until World War II. When Germany invaded Poland, Russia jumped on the chance to invade Poland in return and take back what it had lost in the 1921 accord. The new borders were confirmed by Poland and the USSR in a treaty after WWII.

Belarus and its southern neighbor, Ukraine, were both part of the USSR when the Chernobyl disaster took place in 1986. Chernobyl is located in the north of Ukraine close to the border of Belarus. About 70% of the fallout from the nuclear power plant explosion ended up in Belarus, contaminating at least a fifth of the agricultural land.

In 1991, the country broke from the USSR even though it continues to maintain close economic ties with Russia. Alexander Lukashenko has been governing the country in what has labeled an authoritarian style since 1994. He has won re-elections ever since, amid allegations about vote-rigging and illegal modifications to the constitution that ensure successfully longer terms for himself.

Map of contemporary Belarus from Depositphotos.com

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko. It originally ran in August 2016 and has been updated for the August 2016 edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
    This Is Happiness
    by Niall Williams
    Niall Williams's This Is Happiness offers an extraordinary portrait of a particular moment in the ...
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins
    Jeanine Cummins' American Dirt hasn't just been positively reviewed by BookBrowse First Impressions ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.