Ambulocetus, The Walking Whale: Background information when reading The Bones of Grace

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Bones of Grace

by Tahmima Anam

The Bones of Grace by Tahmima Anam X
The Bones of Grace by Tahmima Anam
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2016, 432 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2017, 416 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Claire McAlpine
Buy This Book

About this Book

Ambulocetus, The Walking Whale

This article relates to The Bones of Grace

Print Review

Zubaida Haque, the main character in Tahmima Anam's The Bones of Grace, is a marine paleontologist with a particular interest in Ambulocetus, an amphibious (able to live on land and water) cetacean (carnivorous, finned, aquatic marine mammal) that lived over 40 million years ago. Fossils of Ambulocetus are believed to show how whales evolved from land-living mammals, thus its name which comes from the Latin ambulare 'to walk' and cetus 'whale'. It is more often simply known as the walking whale.

Ambulocetus BonesIn 1980, American paleontologist Robert West was the first to recognize, based on the teeth, that whales once lived in what is now Pakistan. A year later, Philip Gingerich of the University of Michigan described a whale's braincase from a location on the opposite side of the Indus River. That fossil was given the name Pakicetus, Latin for 'Pakistan's whale'. Most of the fossils have been found in shallow sea or coastal swamp areas of northwest India and Pakistan. When the animal roamed the land, Pakistan was a coastal region of India, which was an island continent.

Ambulocetus had a form similar to a crocodile or a large lizard with short legs a long, slender snout and large carnivorous teeth. It may have fed on prey similarly, holding it in its jaw and drowning it, or using violent thrashing motions. Its short limbs enabled it to get about easily on land and its large feet were useful for paddling in water. Thus it was able to both walk on land and swim in water.

AmbulocetusThough they don't look like whales of today, their skulls and, in particular, the ear region, resemble those of living whales and are unlike any other mammal. They are also believed to have been able to drink salt water like whales, and they evolved nostrils that were positioned further back, until becoming the blowholes we know today. Whales move their tails up and down to swim, unlike fish that move back and forth, side to side. This is due to their backbone, which more easily moves up and down, a possible connection to their ancient heritage.

The Walking WhalesJ.G.M. 'Hans' Thewissen, anatomist, neurobiologist and leading researcher in the field of whale paleontology, wrote a first person account of his discoveries in The Walking Whales: From Land to Water in Eight Million Years. He was funded by National Geographical Society to study how land mammals migrated between Indo-Pakistan and Asia across the Tethys Sea around fifty million years ago. During his mission to gather fossil evidence, he was thwarted by the outbreak of war, faced possible kidnap, terrorist attack and the challenges of desert living in trying to unearth the bones of these mythical-like creatures.

Dr. Hans Thewissen introduces the walking whale Ambulocetus in the video below



Fossil of an Ambulocetus
Rendering of an Ambulocetus

Filed under Nature and the Environment

Article by Claire McAlpine

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Bones of Grace. It originally ran in August 2016 and has been updated for the June 2017 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...
  • Book Jacket: Mercy Street
    Mercy Street
    by Jennifer Haigh
    Jennifer Haigh's Mercy Street centers around a Boston clinic that provides abortion services. The ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Carolina Moonset
by Matt Goldman
An engrossing novel about family, memories and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.