Niemann-Pick Type C: Background information when reading The Memory Book

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Memory Book

by Lara Avery

The Memory Book by Lara Avery X
The Memory Book by Lara Avery
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2016, 368 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2017, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Bradley Sides
Buy This Book

About this Book

Niemann-Pick Type C

This article relates to The Memory Book

Print Review

A terminal diagnosis is difficult for any family to accept, but it's especially hard when the patient is a teenager. In Lara Avery's The Memory Book, Sammie McCoy is a bright and successful teen. She's going to a national debate tournament. She's her high school's valedictorian. She's going to NYU. Suddenly, though, Sammie begins to change. She has trouble remembering, and she can't control her body. Soon she is diagnosed with Niemann-Pick Type C (NPC), and her life takes an unexpectedly dark turn.

NPC (sometimes referred to less formally as "childhood Alzheimer's") is an especially cruel disease, even by terminal standards. According to the National Niemann-Pick Disease Foundation, the disease occurs when "patients are not able to metabolize cholesterol and other lipids properly within the cell. Consequently, excessive amounts of cholesterol accumulate within the liver and spleen and excessive amounts of other lipids accumulate on the brain." The organization offers this heartbreaking statistic: "NPC is always fatal. The majority of children with NPC die before age 20 (many die before the age of 10)."

The New York Times offers a glimpse at some of the symptoms of NPC, which include "difficulty moving limbs, learning difficulties and intellectual decline (dementia), slurred, irregular speech, and seizures." It's a disease that debilitates the mind and body.

NPC is very rare; in fact, there are only around 500 diagnosed cases throughout the entire world (NNPDF). There is no definitive treatment, but there are steps being made to help the patient in the progression of the disease. While obviously rare, a couple of cases in America have received media attention.

Angie Leventis Lourgos of the Chicago Tribune recently reported on sixteen-year-old NPC patient Hayley Koujaian. Hayley was in the first grade when symptoms first appeared: "She wasn't retaining information. There was odd clumsiness, bumping into walls and desks without explanation. Most alarming, she appeared to be losing abilities she once mastered." It took until the age of eleven to receive her NPC diagnosis.

Hayley's condition rapidly worsened. At fourteen, she had the language development and mental capacity of a typical eighteen-month-old. She also had trouble swallowing, and her walking was difficult. Hayley and her family agreed to an experimental treatment with the drug cyclodextrin. Thus far, the results have been positive. She has shown steady language and cognitive growth – now approaching the development of a normal three-year-old. She's also regained some control in her walking, and her swallowing is less strained. Although the likely outcome remains dire, there is comfort to be found in science learning how to slow down the disease.

Another case involves the Parseghian family. Ara Parseghian was the popular Notre Dame football coach who led the Fighting Irish to two national championships – one in 1966 and another in 1973. His son, Mike, and Mike's wife, Cindy had four children, three of whom ended up having NPC.

Just like Hayley, the three Parseghian children (Michael, Christa, and Marcia) were normal infants. Later, they showed interests in karate, reading, and dance. The first sign of trouble appeared when Michael, the couple's oldest son, was in kindergarten. According to Parseghian.org, Michael "couldn't handle the monkey bars as well as other kids, and he was losing his balance in karate class. His handwriting wasn't as legible." At first, Michael's pediatrician noted "childhood clumsiness" as the likely culprit, but later testing revealed NPC.

Soon the symptoms grew worse, and the other siblings began to display similar traits. Michael and Crista both passed away before they turned eleven. Marcia lived until she was 16. Ara established the Ara Parseghian Medical Research Foundation to help other families fight the disease. Their foundation raises more than $2 million a year toward NPC research.

NPC is a devastating illness. Hopefully, with supporters like the Parseghian family and positive experimental trial results like Hayley's, future sufferers of the disease can have a chance at a healthier and longer life.

Article by Bradley Sides

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Memory Book. It originally ran in August 2016 and has been updated for the May 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.