Tips for Making the Perfect Pie Crust: Background information when reading Dinner with Edward

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Dinner with Edward

A Story of an Unexpected Friendship

by Isabel Vincent

Dinner with Edward by Isabel Vincent X
Dinner with Edward by Isabel Vincent
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2016, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2017, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Tips for Making the Perfect Pie Crust

This article relates to Dinner with Edward

Print Review

In Dinner with Edward, Isabel Vincent's memoir, Edward's two tricks for making a perfect pastry crust are crushed ice and a mixture of grated butter and fresh lard (from his Queens butcher), all kept as cold as possible. What are other chefs' top tips? The choice of fat(s) and their proportions are the main differences.

Perfect flaky pie crust Julia Child's shortcrust pastry recipe in Mastering the Art of French Cooking suggests butter to (vegetable) lard in a ratio of 3:1. One should use chilled butter and cold water and work as quickly as possible. "The mixing of pastry should be accomplished rapidly, particularly if your kitchen is warm, so that the butter will soften as little as possible."

The Betty Crocker cookbook (2000 edition) calls for shortening and cold water. Its advice includes using a pastry blender or two knives to cut in the fat; choosing unbleached flour to create a pleasing golden color; and baking a pie in a glass or dull-finish aluminum pan so as not to reflect heat.

Delia Smith, one of Britain's top food writers, suggests using room-temperature fat and cold water. She offers many options for the proportion of fats, varying from all butter (good if the filling is less rich) to half margarine and half lard, her preferred method.

Paula Deen's perfect pie crust recipe involves vegetable shortening and butter, combined quickly with other ingredients including ice water. Ina Garten's recipe uses almost the same ratio of shortening to butter, but differs in the amount of added sugar.

Fine Cooking calls for pure, high-quality butter and recommends mixing it in by hand rather than using a food processor, to create a flaky texture. Likewise, Martha Stewart and J. Kenji López-Alt, Managing Culinary Director of Serious Eats, recommend all-butter crusts. However, The Pioneer Woman insists on all Crisco, a type of vegetable shortening. Pampered Chef also advises all shortening.

Real Simple magazine recommends 1) replacing a bit of the water with an acid such as lemon juice or vinegar to keep the crust tender and 2) brushing the pie crust with a mixture of beaten egg and cream to make a shiny golden top. Other sources, from Cook's Illustrated onwards, substitute several tablespoons of vodka for some of the water, again to maintain a tender, flaky texture.

Note: Gluten-free pie crust recipes tend to simply replace the flour with a gluten-free flour blend. Dairy-free pie crust is generally achieved by using either margarine or coconut oil as the fat.

Picture of pie crust from Veganbaking.net

Article by Rebecca Foster

This "beyond the book article" relates to Dinner with Edward. It originally ran in July 2016 and has been updated for the June 2017 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher


    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.