Misery Lit: Background information when reading The Sound of Gravel

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Sound of Gravel

A Memoir

by Ruth Wariner

The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner X
The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Wariner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2016, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2017, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Misery Lit

This article relates to The Sound of Gravel

Print Review

The Sound of Gravel, a personal account of the author's traumatic childhood, is part of a surprisingly popular genre commonly called, somewhat derisively we might add, the misery memoir.

In a 2006 Guardian article, a publishing industry official pointed out that "readers of these books would previously have looked to fiction for their emotional engagement but now they respond to the extra 'integrity' of fact." Since then, publishers have struggled with nonfiction accounts that are not entirely so (James Frey's A Million Little Pieces comes readily to mind). Ishmael Beah's A Long Way Gone ran into similar troubles as well, with reporters faulting the accuracy of some of the claims made.

Over the last few years, the genre has seen saturation, especially with some readers looking for escapist fiction to move away from their problems. Nevertheless it's clear that many like to read about the struggles of their fellow humans and more important, about how these challenges are overcome.

Here are five popular examples of such memoirs:

Angela's Ashes Angela's Ashes: A Memoir by Frank McCourt

Paperback May 1999. 255 pages. Published by Simon & Schuster.

Imbued on every page with Frank McCourt's astounding humor and compassion. This is a glorious book that bears all the marks of a classic.
More details and reviews about this book


A Child Called It
A Child Called It: One Child's Courage to Survive by Dave Pelzer

Hardcover Oct 1999. 184 pages. Published by HCI.

The unforgettable story of Dave Pelzer, who was brutally beaten and starved by his emotionally unstable, alcoholic mother: a mother who played tortuous, unpredictable games - that left him nearly dead.
More details and reviews about this book


Finding Fish
Finding Fish by Antwone Quenton Fisher

Paperback Dec 2001. 352 pages. Published by HarperPaperbacks.

The memoir of Antwone Fisher's miraculous journey from abandonment and abuse to liberation, manhood, and extraordinary success. "A striking and original story of the journey from troubled childhood to self-aware adult."
More details and reviews about this book


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle: A Memoir by Jeannette Walls

Paperback Jan 2006. 304 pages. Published by Scribner.

A tender, moving tale of unconditional love in a family that, despite its profound flaws, gave the author the fiery determination to carve out a successful life on her own terms.
More details and reviews about this book


Take This Man
Take This Man: A Memoir by Brando Skyhorse

Paperback Jun 2015. 272 pages. Published by Simon & Schuster.

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth.
More details and reviews about this book

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Sound of Gravel. It originally ran in January 2016 and has been updated for the April 2017 paperback edition.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: American Prison
    American Prison
    by Shane Bauer
    After spending over two years in Iran's notorious Evin Prison for supposedly crossing the country's ...
  • Book Jacket: Small Fry
    Small Fry
    by Lisa Brennan-Jobs
    Small Fry is the debut memoir from Lisa Brennan-Jobs, long-time journalist and writer, and oldest ...
  • Book Jacket: The Winter Soldier
    The Winter Soldier
    by Daniel Mason
    Imagine the thousands of confounding cases doctors face routinely for which diagnoses are hard to ...
  • Book Jacket: Brother
    Brother
    by David Chariandy
    Brother is the brief, moving account of how a single, tragic moment in time can alter the course of ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Removes by Tatjana Soli

A powerful, transporting novel about the addictive intensity and freedom of the American frontier.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Sold on a Monday
    by Kristina McMorris

    An unforgettable novel inspired by a stunning piece of history.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Clockmaker's Daughter

The Clockmaker's Daughter by Kate Morton

A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House. On sale Oct 9.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T Turn T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.