The Flannery O'Connor Award and Bread Loaf Conference: Background information when reading After the Parade

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

After the Parade

by Lori Ostlund

After the Parade by Lori Ostlund X
After the Parade by Lori Ostlund
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Sep 2015, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2016, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Flannery O'Connor Award and Bread Loaf Conference

Print Review

Most of us are familiar with high-profile book recognitions such as the Man Booker Prize or the National Book Award. There are many lesser known writing awards and programs that are prestigious and well known in literary circles. Lori Ostlund, author of After the Parade, can include two such recognitions as part of her biography: The Flannery O'Connor award and being accepted to attend the Bread Loaf Conference.

The Flannery O'Connor Award

Every year since 1983, the University of Georgia Press has considered manuscripts for the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction, given annually to the two best short story collections or novellas. The competition, which charges a $30 fee per application, attracts nearly 300 entries per year. Winners are awarded $1,000 as well as the chance to have their work published by the university press, which has released more than 50 award-winning titles.

Ostlund was recognized with the 2009 Flannery O'Connor Award for The Bigness of the World, which was be re-released by Scribner in February 2016. The book also won the Edmund White Debut Fiction Award and the California Book Award for First Fiction. Much like her debut novel, the short story collection, which ranges in setting from Minnesota to Malaysia, shows how people try to escape from tricky situations only to find that a new life is just as difficult.

Other winners of the Flannery O'Connor award include renowned authors such as Antonya Nelson, Hester Kaplan, Bill Roorbach, and Ha Jin – some of whom are known for their short stories, and others who have since moved on to novels.

Controversy struck in 2005 when the University of Georgia Press withdrew Brad Vice's Flannery O'Connor Award for The Bear Bryant Funeral Train after allegations that he plagiarized part of one story from Carl Carmer's Stars Fell on Alabama (1934).

The Bread Loaf Conference

View of Victorian Farmhouse, primary site of Bread Loaf Conference In August 2010 Lori Ostlund received a fellowship to attend the Bread Loaf Conference, an annual summer writers' workshop in Ripton, Vermont on Middlebury College's Bread Loaf campus. The conference has run since 1926 and was originally closely associated with Robert Frost, who attended 29 times.

The core of the ten-day conference is workshops where each writer shares their work and receives feedback and constructive criticism from staff and fellow attendees. As opposed to a writers' retreat, Bread Loaf is designed to be collaborative and educational rather than just a chance to get uninterrupted writing done. Only about 17% of applicants are accepted. Most pay their own way, but there are also some scholarships that allow participants to earn their tuition by serving meals in the dining hall. The conference has been called the "oldest and most prestigious writers' conference in the country" by The New Yorker. While writers' workshops are a dime a dozen, the prestige comes from membership in an exclusive club, from having a chance at seeing how "the sausage is made in literary America," said participant Michael Bourne in an article for The Millions: "What Bread Loaf offers is not just the opportunity to rub shoulders with eminent authors and publishing worthies, but a chance to do so at a time and place when their usually trip-wired bullshit detectors are disarmed."

The Bread Loaf campus (named after the unincorporated community, Bread Loaf, in Ripton) was willed to Middlebury College by nature lover and local newspaper owner, Joseph Battell. He purchased more than 30,000 acres of forest and farmland in the Green Mountains and donated it all to Middlebury. The college established a graduate school of English and American literature and housed it on the Bread Loaf campus.

Of her experience at the conference, Ostlund reflects: "One of my best experiences as a writer happened when I was a fellow at the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference in 2010. There, I read at the Little Theater for one of the toughest yet most appreciative audiences that one can imagine: a roomful of fellow writers...What made the experience particularly gratifying, beyond the opportunity to give a reading to a theater full of writers and to meet great people, was that I came home with a pile of books by my fellow fellows, which I am now reading my way through."

The writers' workshop is not the only Bread Loaf conference. June 2014 saw the first annual Bread Loaf Orion Writers' Conference, a collaboration between the Bread Loaf Conferences, Orion magazine, and Middlebury College's Environmental Studies Program. The inaugural Bread Loaf Translators' Conference was also held in June 2014.

Picture of Victorian farmhouse at Bread Loaf from Middlebury College

Article by Rebecca Foster

This article was originally published in October 2015, and has been updated for the July 2016 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.