Child Soldiers in the Yugoslavian Civil War: Background information when reading Girl at War

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Girl at War

by Sara Novic

Girl at War by Sara Novic X
Girl at War by Sara Novic
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2015, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2016, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Child Soldiers in the Yugoslavian Civil War

This article relates to Girl at War

Print Review

Dubrovnik Wartime StradunThe Civil War that led to the breakup of Yugoslavia consisted of a number of separate but related ethnic conflicts spanning the period 1991 to 2001. Sara Novic's debut novel, Girl at War, zeroes in on the Croatian War of Independence, which lasted from 1991 to 1995.

The United Nations estimates that 3,000 to 4,000 child soldiers (some as young as 10) took part in the fighting, most of them in Bosnia and Croatia, though other sources put the numbers at more like 10,000. The Croatian Ministry of Defence has denied that they ever actively recruited children. A UNICEF statement insists that "children under 18 years were not obliged to participate in military forces, very few of them joined the military forces as volunteers, and they were accepted only if they were older than 16 years."

Still, the truth is that many underage children volunteered to fight, and a surprising number of these were girls. For instance, Ramiza Variz and her sister, both from Sarajevo, joined Bosnia's government army when they were children. Ramiza fought on the front lines for four years and still has the scar from a wound she received in 1993. "I don't regret joining the army," she said in the article "Bosnia's Forgotten Child Soldiers"; "I only regret that I didn't have a normal childhood." She now serves as the chair of Bosnia and Hercegovina's Association of Underage Soldiers.

Nenad Bukvic, who fought for the Bosnian Serbs in 1992, when he was only 17, reflects in the same article, "I don't have another homeland, and if I were forced to defend myself again, I would do that. But I wouldn't allow my child to do what I did. I wouldn't want any child in the world to experience what I did during the war." (There are many other stories just like Bukvic's in "Bosnia's Forgotten Child Soldiers.")

UNICEF, the children's rights and emergency relief group, believes that there are currently nearly 250,000 child soldiers involved in 20 armed conflicts worldwide. Some of these soldiers are as young as eight. War Child (a UK charity) reports that most underage soldiers are in Africa (especially Congo, the Ivory Coast, Libya, Mali, Sudan, and South Sudan), and up to 40% are girls. An April 2009 UNICEF report on children in armed conflicts names the main detrimental effects of their experiences as missing out on childhood and educational opportunities, and physical and mental trauma.

In 2012 The Atlantic posted an arresting photo essay marking the 20th anniversary of the Bosnian War. See especially image #18, which depicts a young woman acting as a sniper (as Ana does in Girl at War).

Daily routine at Stradun during the 1991 Croatian War, courtesy of DIREKTOR

Article by Rebecca Foster

This "beyond the book article" relates to Girl at War. It originally ran in June 2015 and has been updated for the March 2016 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.