Stockholm Syndrome and Child Sex Abuse: Background information when reading One Kick

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

One Kick

A Kick Lannigan Novel

by Chelsea Cain

One Kick by Chelsea Cain X
One Kick by Chelsea Cain
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Aug 2014, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2015, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez
Buy This Book

About this Book

Stockholm Syndrome and Child Sex Abuse

This article relates to One Kick

Print Review

During a bank holdup in Stockholm, Sweden in 1973, two men held four people hostage for six days. Over that time period the hostages bonded with the captors and vice versa. The hostages eventually even believed that their captors were actually their protectors, keeping the police from hurting them. It is rumored that one of the hostages later became engaged to one of the captors.

Kreditbanken Norrmalmstorg StockholmAlthough this behavior, called Stockholm Syndrome, seems self-defeating, strange, and even inexplicable, it is quite the contrary. Research has shown that time and again many "hostages" eventually develop fond feelings for their captors. Here the word hostage refers to any one of a number of situations wherein individuals feel trapped by others. From true hostages to battered spouses, incest victims, cult members, sexually, physically abused and kidnapped children the reaction is identical.

According to authorities on the subject, there are certain general circumstances under which this syndrome is likely to occur. They include when there is, "a perceived threat to survival and a belief that the captor is willing to carry out that threat," being isolated "from perspectives other than those of the captor," and a "perceived inability to escape." Additionally the captive must also believe that s/he can curry favor with the captor by being compliant.

In those circumstances captive people begin to develop positive feelings for their captors and they take on the captor's negative feelings for the authorities endeavoring to rescue them. Further, given enough time, captors, remarkably, often also develop fondness for their hostages.

When children, in particular, are kidnapped or abused, their perception of their situation becomes hugely distorted as a means of self-preservation. They will cling to hope, focusing on whatever positive aspect of their situation they can find. They will blame themselves for having brought the abuse on themselves and fear retaliation from the abuser should they try to escape – or be rescued. Thus they will resist rescue attempts by authorities. And even after an escape or rescue the child will remain loyal to the abuser out of fear that he will come back and inflict severe punishment for disloyalty.

Needless to say the effects of being held in physical and emotional captivity on children are enormous – psychologically, and even physically, debilitating and lifelong. Depression, anxiety, and low self-esteem are just the beginning. Survivors suffer flashbacks not unlike PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) sufferers. They can be antisocial, angry and unable to sustain healthy relationships with the opposite sex. They themselves are at greater risk for becoming an abuser. Years of professional counseling is strongly advised if they are to assume any semblance of their former lives.

Former Kreditbanken Norrmalmstorg Stockholm where hostages were held for six days in 1973. Photo courtesy of Tage Olsin

Filed under Cultural Curiosities

Article by Donna Chavez

This "beyond the book article" relates to One Kick. It originally ran in September 2014 and has been updated for the May 2015 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.