The Queen Bee: Background information when reading The Bees

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Bees

by Laline Paull

The Bees by Laline Paull X
The Bees by Laline Paull
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucy Rock

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Queen Bee

Print Review

The structure of a honeybee hive is both fascinating and highly complex — a pod of thousands of female worker bees, a few hundred male drones in the summer and, at the epicentre, the queen.

As a former queen begins to fail (i.e. ceases to lay eggs due to age or illness), workers will make special, larger queen cells in which nurse bees raise queen larvae, feeding them a special substance called royal jelly. Although ordinary honey bees are fed this very early in their development, queens eat only royal jelly throughout their lives. The nutrient-rich substance allows her to grow to one-and-half times the size of an ordinary bee with a fully developed reproductive system, capable of laying up to two thousand eggs per day.

The Queen Bee Once emerged from a larva, a virgin queen will proceed to either lead a swarm from the hive to find new nesting ground or kill the other developing queen bees by stinging them through the wall of their cells. (Unlike a worker bee, a queen's sting is not barbed and she may attack repeatedly without dying.)

In order to become a fully fledged queen and ensure survival of the hive, the newly emerged bee must mate with up to twenty drone bees (who perish in the process), leaving her with enough sperm to lay around the clock for the rest of her long life. She will live approximately three to five years in comparison with the few weeks' lifespan of her subjects. An effective queen will lay whatever the hive requires; with fertilized eggs producing female offspring and unfertilized ones producing drones.

A beehive and the complex society within it, with each bee allocated a specific role, are controlled by an elaborate mixture of pheromones, the most distinct of these being the Queen Mandibular Pheromone (QMP). Although the queen is essentially merely the ovary of the hive that ensures its regeneration, QMP controls many other behavioral instincts of the colony, including mating and foraging behavior.

The release of QMP also proves to be an effective method of controlling swarming bees. As the population of the colony grows and the hive becomes overcrowded, some bees lose the ability to sense their queen and begin to create another to replace her. Before the new queen hatches and a fight ensues, the old queen will leave her home with a contingency of loyal worker bees to find a new one. This is referred to as swarming and can be an alarming sight to the casual onlooker. The queen is not a very good flyer and will often need to stop and rest, with her workers clumped around her, until a new settlement is found.

Although queen bees have ensured the survival of their colonies for thousands of years, the modern world holds many dangers that have become hot topics for environmentalists and apiologists over recent years. Colony Collapse Disorder (CCD), a condition whereby adult worker bees mysteriously disappear, is getting increasingly worse. CCD has been attributed to various factors — from the existence of a certain deadly virus; the effect of specific pesticides; to poor nutrition and bee-keeping. Notwithstanding humans' agricultural dependence on honeybees and pollination, their potential loss is considered symptomatic of a much wider environmental problem.

Picture of queen bee from Cornwall Honey

Article by Lucy Rock

This article was originally published in July 2014, and has been updated for the May 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.