Brando Skyhorse's Unusual Name: Background information when reading Take This Man

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Take This Man

A Memoir

by Brando Skyhorse

Take This Man by Brando Skyhorse X
Take This Man by Brando Skyhorse
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2015, 272 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Brando Skyhorse's Unusual Name

This article relates to Take This Man

Print Review

Brando Skyhorse, author of the memoir Take This Man, has been known by many names. A mistake in his first name meant that his birth certificate read "Brandon Ulloa" (the last name was his real father's) — but his mother, Maria, had it officially changed three months later to "Brando," as she had always intended. Later he was known as Brando Skyhorse Johnson, and now, after an official name change, his name stands as Brando Skyhorse.

Echo Park, CA Maria "Running Deer" Skyhorse gave her son his name in honor of Marlon Brando, who refused his 1973 Best Actor Oscar for The Godfather because of Hollywood's poor treatment of Native Americans. He believed the film industry only depicted stereotypes of savages, and also relegated Native American actors to extras — instead putting makeup on white actors so they could portray "Indians" on screen. Brando was sympathetic to the American Indian Movement (AIM) and critical of the United States' record of violence and oppression toward its native peoples. He had activist Sacheen Littlefeather read a portion of his speech on stage at the Academy Awards ceremony. (The full text of that speech is available on The New York Times' website, and a video clip is on YouTube.) The spectacle inspired Skyhorse's mother, who prized her affected Native American identity, to name her son Brando.

The last name Skyhorse also bears a tale, this one even more convoluted. In 1974, Paul Skyhorse Durant, a Chippewa, and Richard "Mohawk" Billings were accused of the torture and murder of a Los Angeles taxi driver. Although both were eventually acquitted, they were held in jail on suspicion for a full four years. The case provoked outrage in the Native American community, and Skyhorse's mother, Maria, offered her support to the campaign to free the two prisoners.

However, there was another Paul Skyhorse: Paul Martin Henry "Skyhorse" Johnson, also in prison, and also the subject of Maria's hero worship. This time she went a step further and appropriated the man as her son's new father. In 1973, Paul Skyhorse Johnson was indicted for armed robbery in Illinois. He and Maria corresponded while he was in jail, having met through a personals ad, and Johnson agreed to adopt Brando, though this arrangement was never formalized. Johnson would flit in and out of the author's life, eventually becoming his mother's third husband; he died of brain cancer in 2002. He was just one in a stream of official and unofficial stepfathers in Skyhorse's very unconventional childhood.

Filed under Books and Authors

Article by Rebecca Foster

This "beyond the book article" relates to Take This Man. It originally ran in July 2014 and has been updated for the June 2015 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.