Novels Analyzing Musical Talent and Life: Background information when reading Bellweather Rhapsody

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bellweather Rhapsody

by Kate Racculia

Bellweather Rhapsody by Kate Racculia
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Sacha Dollacker

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Novels Analyzing Musical Talent and Life

Print Review

The characters in Racculia's novel attempt to understand the nature of musical talent and the ways in which it emerges or disappears to impact happiness. The following novels investigate the interaction of musical gifts and the pursuit of a fulfilled life:

Sight Reading Sight Reading by Daphne Kalotay
Kalotay's first novel was about ballet and Russian history. Her second novel, Sight Reading, explores the relationships between a few classical musicians in New England. As each of the characters delves deeper into work as professionals, the perfection they attain with their instruments or conducting baton eludes them in real life. Despite their prowess in music, they realize that they are living their lives merely sight reading, a term that describes the process of playing a composition for the first time without preparation.

Hiding Out At the Pancake Palace Hiding Out at the Pancake Palace by Nan Marino; a young-adult novel
Just as voice prodigy Elvis Ruby believes the stars are aligned to launch him into super fame, he chokes. He wins a coveted spot to perform on a national singing show, but rather than proving his extreme talent, he forgets the words and runs from the stage in embarrassment. Now he must recede into the woods of New England to escape the paparazzi's penetrating questions and figure out a new course in life. He thinks working at his aunt's pancake house is the perfect place, until he meets Cecilia, the girl who always speaks her mind.

The Lucy Variations The Lucy Variations by Sara Zarr
Lucy's incredible piano talent makes her a sold-out solo artist around the world — and she's only 14. At 16, a tragedy causes her to leave her performances, talent, but most of all her love of music behind. When her 10-year-old brother Gus, the new focus for the family's dream of star piano playing, gets a new piano teacher, Lucy finds herself wanting to return to her keyboard. After her incredible performances and privilege as a solo artist, will she be able to learn how to rekindle her love for the piano for only herself?

The Loser The Loser by Thomas Bernhard
Bernhard's work has been to compared to Beckett and Dostoevsky, but this novel — told in a continuous paragraph — plumbs the depths of musical talent, ambition, and the pain of lacking both. The novel is narrated by the second of two fictional friends of piano virtuoso Glenn Gould. Both friends renounce their dreams of musical stardom in the face of Gould's pre-eminent talent. The first friend commits suicide, the second retreats to obscurity to write this narrative, attempting to understand the decisions each made as a result of Gould's musical genius.

This article was originally published in June 2014, and has been updated for the June 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

A million monkeys...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.