Communicating With the Deafblind: Background information when reading What Is Visible

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

What Is Visible

by Kimberly Elkins

What Is Visible by Kimberly Elkins X
What Is Visible by Kimberly Elkins
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2014, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2015, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Communicating With the Deafblind

Print Review

Deafblindness is either congenital (present from birth) or acquired later in life. It can be attributed to many causes including rubella, glaucoma, cataracts, diabetic retinopathy, and premature birth. Deafblindness is not one monolithic condition; it varies in severity or completeness: some people maintain limited use of one or both senses. Both Laura Bridgman (the subject of Kimberly Elkins's What Is Visible) and Helen Keller could see and hear until the age of two, when severe illness struck.

There are many ways of communicating with the deafblind. For those with residual hearing, clear speaking or hearing aids can make a difference. For those with limited sight, lipreading, large print writing, or sign language performed in their visual range may be sufficient. People with more profound vision and hearing loss can benefit from a range of communication tools. Non-verbal communication includes body movement, breathing changes, and associating certain objects and activities (such as a fork with eating or a towel with swimming) and then leading a person to the desired object. The deafblind also rely on some or all of the following means of communication:

  • Braille and Moon are both writing systems of raised characters on a page.
  • Makaton, a learning program of signs and symbols used in proper word order, is usually a pre-language system but can be employed throughout life.
  • The deaf-blind manual alphabet, one of the primary methods of communication, assigns a particular sign to each letter and uses them to spell out words into someone's hand. The block alphabet, a similar technique, involves tracing out letters themselves on the palm of the hand; it is easier to learn than the manual alphabet, but can be more time-consuming.
  • Haptics is a system of touch signals (usually on the back) that can supplement other forms of communication.
  • In "Tadoma" (also known as tactile lipreading), the deaf-blind person touches the speaker's face and neck, keeping a thumb on their lips. Jaw movement, vibrations, and facial expressions reveal the words being spoken. The method was developed at Perkins School for the Blind and used by Helen Keller, but it is difficult to learn and less commonly used nowadays.

When approaching a deaf-blind person, one should gently touch his or her hand to gain attention. Kerry Wadman works for the Ontario Advocacy Commission for those with disabilities. Deaf-blind himself, he is the deaf-blind Program Associate Manager for the Canadian National Institute for the Blind, and drew up a list of "Ten Commandments" for interacting with the deafblind: "Thou shalt not lose hand contact when communicating with a Deaf-blind person" and, most important, "Thou verily shalt view Deaf-blind people as unique and not antique couch potatoes." Elkins, the author of What is Visible, would certainly agree.

Before she came to Perkins School, Laura used her own rudimentary sign language. Her family could only communicate with her by pushing or pulling her where they wanted her to go, and patting her head or back to signify praise or disapproval, respectively. Dr. Samuel Howe initially taught Laura the English language by labeling objects with a name in raised letters. She learned to match the objects with their name labels, and eventually was able to identify individual letters from the cut-up labels and put them back in order to form words. This was the mark of a true understanding of language. In addition to finger spelling, Laura read Braille and could communicate with the public by writing on a slate. These three methods are all on display in What Is Visible.

For a related exploration about sign language and deaf culture, read the Beyond the Book for Hands of My Father.

Article by Rebecca Foster

This article was originally published in June 2014, and has been updated for the June 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.