The Somali Civil War: A Brief Overview: Background information when reading The Orchard of Lost Souls

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Orchard of Lost Souls

by Nadifa Mohamed

The Orchard of Lost Souls by Nadifa Mohamed
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2014, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2015, 352 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lucy Rock

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Somali Civil War: A Brief Overview

Print Review

Nadifa Mohamed's latest novel is set at the birth of a new conflict for Somalia and runs right up to the present day. To understand the whys and wherefores of Somali lawlessness is to gain insight into one of the most treacherous parts of the world.

Map of Somalia In 1991, the country's socialist dictator Mohammed Siad Barre was overthrown, and an unremitting state of conflict and lawlessness followed for many years. Warlords and militant groups spent over two decades locked in a power struggle that has destroyed Somalia's population and laid waste to the country's towns and cities. Conditions were often so bad that the country was abandoned even by U.N. peacekeepers. After a series of peackeeping initiatives, the current government led by President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud, has been in precarious charge of a country already ravaged by famine.

President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud In Somalia, destabilizing forces have historically been difficult to hold at bay. The Islamic militant group al-Shabab, closely linked with al-Qaeda, has lead this charge. Although forced to withdraw from the capital Mogadishu and their last stronghold, Kismayo, in the last few years, the force still exerts a strong hold and influence on the state. As well as daily insurgencies against the peacekeeping AMISOM forces (African Union Mission in Somalia) and the general subjugation of the population, al-Shabab has claimed direct responsibility for various high-profile terrorist attacks in recent years including: the 2013 Westgate shopping mall attack in Nairobi; attacks on supporters watching the 2010 FIFA World Cup Final in Uganda, and bombings at the U.S. embassies in Nairobi and Dar es Salaam in 1998. The group deems "outside interference" in Somali affairs as unacceptable and death and destruction as the ultimate deterrence.

Any internal support from which al-Shabab may have benefited began to waver substantially following the 2011 East African drought when the group strenuously opposed foreign aid, kidnapping and, in some cases murdering, relief agents and exacerbating the situation considerably. To add to an already strained political climate, tens of thousands of people, many of them children, perished in the famine.

Although conditions in the country are still desperate, hope could arguably be on the horizon. Does al-Shabab's retreat from the capital speak volumes? To aid a president with peacekeeping credentials, the U.N-backed force of AMISOM is an ever-present force in the lawless state. The presence of U.S. military advisors in Mogadishu and a temporary lifting of the arms embargo, are also hopeful signs. Inspiring literature written by Somali writers such as Nadifa Mohamed can only serve to further educate readers about the plight of this war-torn state and its people.

Picture of map from Lonely Planet
Picture of Pres. Hassan Sheikh Mohamud by Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Article by Lucy Rock

This article was originally published in March 2014, and has been updated for the June 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.