The Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship: Background information when reading In the Memorial Room

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In the Memorial Room

by Janet Frame

In the Memorial Room by Janet Frame
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Dec 2013, 208 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2014, 208 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Suzanne Reeder

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship

Print Review

Katherine Mansfield In Janet Frame's posthumously published novel In the Memorial Room, New Zealand writer Harry Gill is awarded the annual Watercress-Armstrong Fellowship, which affords him the opportunity to work and live for six months in Menton, France. This novel is based on Frame's own experiences in Menton as a Katherine Mansfield Fellow in 1974. One of New Zealand's most prestigious literary awards, the Mansfield Fellowship—currently the New Zealand Post Mansfield Prize—has supported many notable writers for more than 40 years.

Katherine Mansfield was born as Kathleen Beauchamp in Wellington, New Zealand in 1888. She died of tuberculosis in France in 1923. Known primarily for her short fiction, her collections include In a German Pension and The Garden Party. During the First World War she contracted tuberculosis. In 1919 and 1920 she spent long periods in Menton on the Côte d'Azur, believing the climate would be beneficial to her health. During her stays, Mansfield lived and wrote at the Villa Isola Bella. Currently, the villa comprises privately owned apartments. A room in the basement is furnished as a study and is reserved for Mansfield fellows.

Villa Isolabella Since 1970 one fellow from New Zealand has been chosen every year. Young adult fiction writer Mandy Hager was announced as the 2014 fellow. She received NZ $75,000 in prize money. The financial award and French setting are intended to support and inspire established and mid-career writers while they develop future work, far from the constraints of usual job and life commitments. Past recipients include Dame Fiona Kidman, Justin Paton, and Greg McGee.

In 1999 more than 20 Mansfield fellows read aloud the letters they wrote to the iconic author in a standing-room-only celebration in Wellington. These letters were published in the 2000 book As Fair as New Zealand to Me.

Though the current room for fellows is described as being equipped with its own separate entrance and facilities, Frame had less than ideal conditions during her stay in Menton. The room where she worked had no running water or toilet facilities. There were also delays in receiving her fellowship payments. Yet, in spite of (or due to) these difficulties, Frame managed to artfully exploit these frustrations in In The Memorial Room.

To learn more about Janet Frame, read the 'Beyond the Book' for The Memory of Love.

Article by Suzanne Reeder

This article was originally published in February 2014, and has been updated for the December 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.