Slave Quilts: Background information when reading The Invention of Wings

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Invention of Wings

by Sue Monk Kidd

The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2014, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2015, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Judi Sauerbrey

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Slave Quilts

Print Review

Among the many unifying symbols in all the intertwining relationships that course through The Invention of Wings, one of the most important concerns is not another person but a quilt.

"This a story quilt," Mauma Charlotte tells her daughter Handful. "My mauma made one and her mauma before her. All my kin in Africa...kept their history on a quilt." Later, as Handful stitches the appliquéd squares together, she begins to understand just how much of her mother – her earlier life in Africa, her experiences with slavery – is in the quilt. "Mauma had sewed where she came from, who she was, what she loved, the things she suffered, and the things she'd hoped. She'd found a way to tell it."

In her book, Stitched From the Soul: Slave Quilts From the Antebellum South, folklore historian Gladys-Marie Fry notes that for enslaved women, quilting was a survival mechanism, "...a type of emotional and social release that provided...the means by which they recorded and preserved their experiences...it was their personal and communal history, recorded not on paper but on fabric." Since they were forbidden by law to learn to read and write, these story quilts became a way for slave women to validate and preserve their own experiences separate and apart from the day-to-day drudgery of involuntary servitude.

Harriet Powers's Bible Quilt African-American slave quilting possesses a definite yin-yang dichotomy. Many slave women were skilled in needlework and clothing construction and did much of their work on behalf of the families who owned them. In fact, the exquisitely appliquéd and stitched quilts, known as "best" quilts, still handed down in southern families were largely crafted by these women in bondage.

For their own use, however, slave women made utility quilts out of scraps left over from clothing construction, more often from their own rough garments than the best cottons, silks and velvets belonging to the "big house." Here and there a piece of fancier material smuggled into the slave quarters, would be incorporated into what came to be known as "life" quilts. These types of folk art pieces, created communally and on their own time, became symbols of bonding and slave women could take pride in their unique creations rather than simply following the patterns they were told to fashion for their masters. As the fictional Handful observes in the novel, for each quilter, the life quilt was "the meat on her bones," and definitely a piece of each woman's individual soul.

Few of these masterpieces exist today due to natural deterioration, hard use, the vicissitudes of war and the displacement of Reconstruction. The fictional quilt in The Invention of Wings is based on two extant ones by an actual slave woman from Georgia, Harriet Powers (1837-1911). Fascinated by oral history and employing a traditional African style of appliqué, Harriet stitched local legends, Bible stories and even astronomical events such as the Leonid meteor storm of November 13, 1833.

In desperate need of money, Harriet Powers was forced to sell her "Bible" quilt (see image above). The buyer, Miss Jennie Smith of Athens, Georgia, purchased it for five dollars, and received an oral interpretation of the different squares as well. Harriet had originally asked ten but was bargained down and was only partially consoled by Miss Smith's promise to allow her to visit "the offspring of my brain," as she always referred to it. Following Jennie Smith's death, the quilt, which had not been designated in her will, made its way to the Smithsonian Institute's collections when the liquidator in charge of Smith's estate gave it to the venerable Washington, D.C.-based institution.

For information about the role of quilts in the Underground Railroad, read the 'Beyond the Book' for Song Yet Sung.

Picture of Harriett Powers's Bible quilt by Rhonda Leigh Willers of the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. Wikimedia Commons

Article by Judi Sauerbrey

This article was originally published in January 2014, and has been updated for the May 2015 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.