Down Syndrome: Background information when reading The Shock of The Fall

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Shock of The Fall

(originally published in hardcover in USA as Where the Moon Isn't)

by Nathan Filer

The Shock of The Fall by Nathan Filer X
The Shock of The Fall by Nathan Filer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2013, 320 pages

    Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Down Syndrome

This article relates to The Shock of The Fall

Print Review

In Where The Moon Isn't, the protagonist's brother, Simon Homes, has Down syndrome.

Down syndrome manifestation Down syndrome is the most common genetic abnormality being present in one of every 691 births in the United States. All humans have 23 pairs of chromosomes. Down's is caused when the 21st set has a partial or a whole extra copy, which means that there are three copies of the 21st chromosome (trisomy). Trisomies can occur with other pairs of chromosomes as well, giving rise to different disorders, but Down's is defined as the one affecting the 21st pair only. This error in cell division happens at conception and its causes are still unknown.

Down's manifests itself with a particular set of facial characteristics including flattened profile and slight upward slant to the eyes. There is a greater chance of heart problems with Down's and babies are usually screened immediately to identify these. Individuals with Down's usually have a higher rate of thyroid and respiratory infections as well. Most have mild to moderate intellectual disability although with special education, adults can hold jobs in well-supervised atmospheres.

The syndrome, which is named after the British physician, John Langdon Down who described the condition in 1866, can be detected by means of neonatal tests including more invasive ones such as amniocentesis.

In 2013, U.S. researchers reported finding a technique that would disable the extra copy of the 21st chromosome from being expressed, in effect suppressing the cells that cause Down's. An RNA gene called Xist was spliced into lab-grown stem cells with Down's. The result was that Xist modified the extra copy so as to deactivate most of its genes and the protein production associated with Down's. Scientists hope that this method will help further research into Down's and its treatment, although they caution that it's still too early in the research stage to be successfully carried through.

Picture of Down syndrome trisomy from National Human Genome Research Institute

Filed under Medicine, Science and Tech

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Shock of The Fall. It originally ran in January 2014 and has been updated for the October 2014 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start discovering exceptional books!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: After the Miracle
    After the Miracle
    by Max Wallace
    Many people have heard one particular story about Helen Keller—how the saintly teacher, Annie ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Wife
    The Lost Wife
    by Susanna Moore
    The Lost Wife is a hard-hitting novella based in part on a white settler named Sarah Wakefield's ...
  • Book Jacket
    Firekeeper's Daughter
    by Angeline Boulley
    Voted 2021 Best Young Adult Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers

    Angeline Boulley's young adult ...
  • Book Jacket: Hello Beautiful
    Hello Beautiful
    by Ann Napolitano
    Ann Napolitano's much-anticipated Hello Beautiful pulls the reader into a warm, loving familial ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The First Conspiracy
by Brad Meltzer & Josh Mensch
A remarkable and previously untold piece of American history—the secret plot to kill George Washington

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Pieces of Blue
    by Holly Goldberg Sloan

    A hilarious and heartfelt novel for fans of Maria Semple and Emma Straub.

Win This Book
Win Girlfriend on Mars

30 Copies to Give Away!

A funny and poignant debut novel that skewers billionaire-funded space travel in a love story of interplanetary proportions.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S I F A R Day

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.