Dirty Realism: Background information when reading Goat Mountain

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Goat Mountain

by David Vann

Goat Mountain by David Vann X
Goat Mountain by David Vann
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2013, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2014, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rebecca Foster
Buy This Book

About this Book

Dirty Realism

This article relates to Goat Mountain

Print Review

David Vann fits into an American literary tradition that has been around since the 1960s, but was only given a name in 1983. Bill Buford, former editor of Granta literary magazine, coined the term "dirty realism" to characterize two trends in American fiction: a tendency toward simplified language, largely free from adverbs or flowery language (as is true of Vann's matter-of-fact prose in Goat Mountain), and frank consideration of the awfulness of ordinary, lower- or middle-class lives.

A post-Cold War phenomenon, dirty realism arose in an atmosphere of suspicion and paranoia. It often reflects on capitalism and consumerism through the experiences of blue-collar workers, sometimes using black humor to lighten the mood. The characters usually have no hope of escaping the poverty of their circumstances; as Tamas Dobozy notes in his University of British Columbia PhD thesis, "Towards a Definition of Dirty Realism," the dirty realist story "chooses entrapment as its natural habitat." In a subversion of the American dream narrative, the characters find themselves caught in cycles of existential loneliness and meaninglessness – an observation that certainly rings true in relation to the protagonist of Goat Mountain.

Dobozy adds that the genre is "uncluttered, both in style and content," by either experimental techniques or wider historical and social commentary. Some related literary movements are naturalism (a school that includes Theodore Dreiser, Ernest Hemingway, and John Steinbeck), minimalism (which, again, limits stylistic experimentation and linguistic virtuosity), and postmodernism. Granta highlighted such early pioneers of dirty realism as Raymond Carver, Tobias Wolff, Richard Ford, Frederick Barthelme, and Jayne Ann Phillips. Other writers who might be included under the umbrella of dirty realism are Charles Bukowski (known as the "godfather" of the movement), Bobbie Anne Mason, and Louise Erdrich.

British novelist and critic Nick Hornby, in his book Contemporary American Fiction, argues that dirty realism is an "inadequate categorization that doesn't mean very much at all." Yet Dobozy suggests that rather than throwing the term out entirely, it might be possible to add nuances, thinking of it as "less a uniform mass than an aggregate of specific, localized, personal narratives…[for which] disparity supplies their defining characteristic." That disparity, between characters' lofty dreams and the gritty reality of their bleak and impoverished situations, paves the way for the hypocrisy, defeatism, and tragedy that characterize dirty realist plots. Later critics have suggested subgenres like "dirty surrealism," "K-Mart Realism," or "Hick Chic" (the latter two coined by Anne-Marie Karlsson in 1990).

As a counter-cultural phenomenon, dirty realism goes beyond literature, influencing architecture, film and music alike. For instance, the movie Barfly (1987), directed by Barbet Schroeder, was scripted by Bukowski, while Michael Field's Bright Angel (1990) was written by Ford. Likewise, musicians Tom Waits and Bruce Springsteen work in a dirty realist vein. They share with fiction writers an interest in what Buford called "the belly-side of contemporary life," described "with a disturbing detachment, at times verging on comedy. Understated, ironic, sometimes savage, but insistently compassionate." Indeed, it is that very mixture of savagery and compassion that makes Vann's work so powerful.

Article by Rebecca Foster

This "beyond the book article" relates to Goat Mountain. It originally ran in November 2013 and has been updated for the October 2014 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Girls Burn Brighter
by Shobha Rao

An extraordinary and heart-rending tale of two girls with all the odds against them.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.