A Peek Into Stuttering: Background information when reading Paperboy

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Paperboy

by Vince Vawter

Paperboy by Vince Vawter X
Paperboy by Vince Vawter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2013, 240 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2014, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Sarah Tomp

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
A Peek Into Stuttering

Print Review

The author's note at the end of Paperboy recounts his own struggles with stuttering. He admits this story is largely autobiographical, which makes Little Man's description of his stuttering that much more poignant:

"The reason I hate talking to people who don't know me is because when they first see me I look like every other kid. Two eyes. Two arms. Two legs. Crew-cut hair. Nothing special. But when I open my mouth I turn into something else. Most people don't take the time to understand what's wrong with me and probably just figure I'm not right in the head"

Stuttering can manifest in the repetition or elongation of a particular sound, or in a complete stoppage of speech. The cause of stuttering, also sometimes referred to as stammering, is unclear. Studies indicate that stuttering most likely is due to genetic or neurophysiological causes, made worse by stress. Although stuttering occurs in both genders, boys are far more likely to experience this communication disability at some time in their development.

On a related note, the Oscar winner for Best Picture in 2010, went to The King's Speech, which portrayed how King George VI overcame his stuttering disability. The movie shows how an elocutionist helps the king (played by Colin Firth, whose performance won him an Oscar for Best Actor) deal with his disability. Primary among these techniques shown is singing. While singing is not used much in contemporary speech language therapy for stuttering, therapists do focus on the rhythm and cadence of speech and have it synchronize with the stutterer's breathing patterns. The movie also shows how stutterers perform better when they can't hear their voice. This is the basis for a type of therapy known as delayed auditory feedback. Stutterers can wear a device that looks like a hearing aid and their talk is repeated back to them with a slightly modified pitch and with a delay of split seconds. While not always effective, when it does work, delayed auditory feedback does so in conjunction with more traditional breathing exercises mentioned earlier and helps the stutterer align breathing and speech patterns. It should be noted that while the movie was widely praised as shining a deserved spotlight on stuttering and portraying much of the disability accurately, critics did find missteps. The movie implied that parental abuse and early childhood trauma can lead to stuttering, a theory which has not been scientifically proven.

Paperboy is about more than Little Man's speech impediment, but it allows us to gain a better understanding of the frustrations that accompany such a struggle. It is important that children with this kind of disability see that they are not alone; and for others to have empathy when encountering someone who stutters. Little Man is an appealing character who provides a positive example of a character dealing with this problem.

The Stuttering Foundation has tips for how to talk to a child (or adult) who stutters:

Do:

  • Expect him/her to speak.
  • Listen patiently. Allow time for speaker to complete thought.
  • Reply in unhurried manner, pausing frequently.
  • Focus on content of message, not how it was said.

Don't:

  • Interrupt.
  • Try to finish thought for him/her.
  • Imply that stuttering is something to be ashamed of.
  • Assume there is a psychological/emotional basis to the difficulty. Children who stutter are not any more likely to have an emotional disturbance than any other child.

Article by Sarah Tomp

This article was originally published in June 2013, and has been updated for the December 2014 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.