Cast of Characters: Background information when reading Bring Up the Bodies

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Bring Up the Bodies

Wolf Hall Trilogy #2

by Hilary Mantel

Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel X
Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2012, 432 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 432 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Cast of Characters

This article relates to Bring Up the Bodies

Print Review

Henry VIII
King of England 1509-1547
Painted by Hans Holbein in 1536

German painter Hans Holbein made his reputation in Basel, designing wood blocks for book printers, and painting portraits and commissions for churches. Despite his relative success, the disturbed conditions of the Reformation led him to doubt his financial future and thus seek work in Britain. During his first visit in 1526 he was patronized by the circle of Sir Thomas More. Until his death Holbein was employed by Henry VIII in a wide assortment of tasks, ranging from designing court costumes, silverware, jewelry and triumphal arches to painting portraits of the actual and prospective brides of the monarch.

Thomas Cromwell
Appointed Lord Chancellor after Thomas More's resignation and went on to become the King's closest advisor.
Painted by Hans Holbein in 1532-33

Katherine of Aragon
Daughter of Ferdinand and Isabella of Spain, she was originally married to Arthur, first son of Henry VII. Arthur died in 1502 and seven years later she was married to Henry VIII shortly after he was crowned King in 1509. She failed to provide him with a male heir, which led Henry to seek a divorce from her and replace her with Anne Boleyn.
Painted by Michael Sittow in 1502

Anne Boleyn
Henry VIII's second wife, crowned Queen Consort June 1533. After giving birth to the future Elizabeth I of England, Anne also failed to provide Henry with a male heir. In 1536 Henry had her tried for high treason, charging her with dubious claims of incest and adultery, and she was beheaded on May 19, 1536.
Artist unknown

Cardinal Thomas Wolsey
Lord Chancellor from 1515-1529. Believing that Wolsey was deliberately delaying the annulment of his marriage to Katherine of Aragon, Henry VIII had him stripped of his title of Lord Chancellor, and later arrested on charges of high treason. He fell ill and died on his way to the Tower of London.
Painted by Sampson Strong in 1526

Sir Thomas More replaced Cardinal Thomas Wolsey as Lord Chancellor in 1529. He resigned in 1532 over the issue of King Henry's attempt to have his marriage to Katherine annulled, and was found guilty of high treason and beheaded on July 6, 1535. More was beatified in 1886 and canonized by the Catholic Church as a saint by Pope Pius XI in 1935.
Painted by Hans Holbein in 1527

This "beyond the book article" relates to Bring Up the Bodies. It first ran in the May 22, 2013 issue of BookBrowse Recommends.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.