Gifford Pinchot National Forest: Background information when reading Happiness Is a Chemical in the Brain

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Happiness Is a Chemical in the Brain

Stories

by Lucia Perillo

Happiness Is a Chemical in the Brain by Lucia Perillo
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2012, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2013, 224 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Gifford Pinchot National Forest

Print Review

The Gifford Pinchot National Forest is featured in a few of the stories in Happiness Is a Chemical in the Brain. Several characters maintain trails and clear brush, and these serve as interesting metaphors for dealing with life's hurdles. But of course, a national park is more than just a metaphor.

Mount St HelensNamed for the first Chief Forester of the U.S. Forest Service, the Gifford Pinchot National Forest is located in the Cascade mountain range in Southwestern Washington State. It has gone through several name changes, but was first set aside in 1897 and is therefore one of the oldest national forests in the United States. It currently encompasses 1.3 million acres ­ which now includes the Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument. In the USA, a National Monument is a protected area similar to a National Park except that the President of the United States can declare an area to be a National Monument without the approval of Congress.

Ape CaveBesides being a place of recreation, the Gifford Pinchot National Forest accommodates cattle grazing; timber, mushroom, Christmas tree and berry harvesting; archaeological digs and geological investigations. Several endangered and threatened species, including the spotted owl and coho salmon, make the forest their home. The national forest also provides essential habitat to the bald eagle, gray wolf and grizzly bear.

Points of interest include Ape Cave, the longest known lava tube in the continental United States and the Big Lava Bed, a 500-ft deep lava field that originated from a crater. Opportunities for hiking, camping, horseback riding, berry picking, fishing and wildlife viewing abound.

Images:
Top: Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument
Bottom: Entrance to Ape Cave

Article by Beverly Melven

This article was originally published in July 2012, and has been updated for the May 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.