How the Introduction of Oil and Capitalism Affected Saudi Arabian Culture: Background information when reading In the Kingdom of Men

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

In the Kingdom of Men

A Novel

by Kim Barnes

In the Kingdom of Men by Kim Barnes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2012, 336 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2013, 336 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
How the Introduction of Oil and Capitalism Affected Saudi Arabian Culture

Print Review

In In the Kingdom of Men, Gin McPhee finds herself plopped inside an ARAMCO (Arabian American Oil Company) compound in the 1960s, an oasis that is neither wholly American nor Arabic but is somehow an incongruous mashup within a country still grappling with the culture shock wrought by 20th century capitalism. But what did that culture shock look like in real life?

ARAMCO headquarters complex

Eons of social and economic tradition had established a tight symbiotic relationship between Arab desert nomads (Bedouin) and the stationary farmers and villagers; nomads tended to the grazing livestock while the stationary families produced consumable goods, from tent poles to dates. Very few people were wage earners. It had always been a mostly self-contained, life-sustaining economy that valued family over all else. Traditional Arab families consist of fathers and children. Women - wives, mothers - remained in the families of their fathers, even after marriage. They kept their fathers' names and could own property, but in civil matters women were virtually invisible. While marriage was a civil contract, in Arabia there was, and is, no such thing as separation of church and state; in fact Article One of the country's basic law states that "God's Book (the Qur'an) and the Sunnah of His Prophet" are the country's constitution. Thus, in essence, the Qur'an dictates everything from who can get a driver's license to divorce terms and conditions, all the way to how a woman is supposed to dress.

The modern state of Saudi Arabia was created in 1932 following about thirty years of fighting that started while the Ottoman Empire still had nominal control over the region, and intensified after the end of the World War I - but the new kingdom wasn't much to write home about - being one of the poorest countries in the world at the time. That changed very quickly in 1938 with the discovery of huge oil reserves and the entry of Western capitalism with its influx of managers and laborers - from the US, England, Germany, Ireland and Canada, among other places - many born and bred on the notion of exceptionalism, personal freedom, and separation of church and state. People who know all too well what it means to work for a wage, invest in progress and scramble - by honest labor or not - to the top. Suddenly a millennia-old culture with few-to-no wage earners, whose biggest export had always been desert-loving produce, began to see wealth and a culture beyond its wildest imagining.
A Bedouin family

Image of Bedouin family by Tanenhaus (2005).

This vast wealth changed the country exponentially in some ways, particularly with regard to population and education - in 1960, a majority of the 3 million population were nomadic and education was sporadic; today more than 95% of the 25 million residents are settled and, for citizens, there is universal free education and a system of social security. But culturally, it has remained remarkably unchanged. The country is an absolute monarchy with most positions of influence held by members of the very extensive royal family. The five million or so foreign nationals have little in the way of rights. Neither do women, who still must have a male "guardian" (usually a close relative) who is entitled to make important decisions on their behalf, including whether they may attend university or be allowed to travel; and, of course there are still strict cultural norms for women's behavior in public. In 2011, Saudi women were granted the right to vote.

For more information on the history of Saudi Arabia and the events leading up to the discovery of oil there, check out this article entitled, "Prelude to Discovery," by Jane Waldron Grutz, or click on the video below to watch an educational movie about "a venture by American capital in a strange and ancient land," circa 1948.

Article by Donna Chavez

This article was originally published in June 2012, and has been updated for the February 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.