The Current Ice Age: Background information when reading After the Snow

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

After the Snow

by S. D. Crockett

After the Snow by S. D. Crockett
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2012, 304 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2013, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Norah Piehl

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Current Ice Age

Print Review

Today's climate discussions are often so focused on global warming that it can be easy to forget that dramatic changes in climate, including extensive periods of global cooling, have been a hallmark of earth's history for billions of years. In fact, we're in an ice age right now. Currently, earth is in what's called an interglacial period (an interval of warmer temperatures that occurs between glacial periods within an ice age) of the Pliocene-Quaternary glaciation, which began approximately 2.6 million years ago, and cycles between glacial and interglacial periods roughly every 100,000 - 200,000 years.

Seventeenth century astronomer Johannes Kepler was the first to credit the earth's irregular orbit for these cyclical periods of glaciation. Today, contemporary scientists recognize that other factors, including solar output, continental positioning, and ocean circulation, may also contribute to this cyclical cooling.

Baltoro GlacierA significant glaciation period began approximately 650,000 years ago, during which massive ice sheets extended from Canada across New England and the upper Midwest, as well as deep into Western Europe. This impressive ice buildup helped contribute to a drop in sea levels by 400 feet, and a 9-degree drop in average temperatures worldwide. The last ice age in human experience, often referred to simply as "The Ice Age," peaked about 20,000 years ago, and while we may currently be focused on the warming of the planet, many scientists agree that we're still in a general cooling cycle, in relation to the history of the phenomenon. S.D. Crockett's novel imagines, in particularly vivid fashion, exactly how a real glacial ice age might affect human culture in the twenty-first century: a possibility that many of these scientists apparently do not see as all that far-fetched.


Image: The Baltoro Glacier in Kashmir, Northern Pakistan. At 62 kilometres it is one of the longest alpine glaciers on earth. Photo by Guilhem Vellut

Article by Norah Piehl

This article was originally published in April 2012, and has been updated for the September 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.