Quilting As Hobby and Metaphor: Background information when reading Home

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Home by Toni Morrison X
Home by Toni Morrison
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    May 2012, 160 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2013, 160 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Quilting As Hobby and Metaphor

Print Review

In Home, Cee learns to quilt while recovering from a near-fatal run-in with a doctor who used poor, black women as experimental subjects in his research. After returning to her hometown, her neighbors keep her company in her sickroom and, with their help, she makes her first quilt. She also starts to put together the broken pieces of her life to make something she can call her own and be proud of.

I am not a quilter. I'm fascinated by patterns and mosaics, but the sewing part of the equation has kept me from diving in. However, I did live with a dedicated quilter for a while, and watching her piece together those beautiful quilts was fascinating and humbling. Making something beautiful and functional from scraps is a wonderful metaphor, and appears in a bunch of great books. Here are a few of my favorites:

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming by Joshilyn Jackson
In this mystery (also a family drama and coming-of-age story) quilting is the pastime of Laurel - sister, mother and seeker of the truth behind the drowning of her neighbor's daughter in her backyard pool. Laurel takes tiny pieces of information and sews them together to find the story of what happened - with several false starts, poorly made quilts of facts that don't tell what really happens. The real story is something you could never have imagined from the pieces at hand.

Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
Alias Grace is based on a true story, but makes no claims to the truth. There are many contradictory pieces to the puzzle, and the reader must put them together and decide what really happened. Each chapter title is the name of a quilt pattern, and lots of different kinds of material are included - narration from Grace Marks (convicted murder), newspaper stories, stories about Grace told by other people, poems, etc. Grace herself is a quilter, and she sews many quilts in the book, not all of her own choosing. All these various pieces should add up to something coherent, but stitching them together turns out to be more difficult than expected. I wonder if Margaret Atwood is a quilter.

Happenstance by Carol Shields
Happenstance is actually two short novels, one each for a husband and wife. They spend a week apart - the wife at a quilting show and the husband at home. During this week, each of them try to come to grips with the life they've been leading together as they approach middle age and wonder if they could have done something different. Again, Shields is showing us a complete marriage by revealing the tiny pieces that matter and putting them together so they make sense when you take a step back and view them as a whole.

Article by Beverly Melven

This article was originally published in May 2012, and has been updated for the January 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.