Parents of Young Killers: Background information when reading The Good Father

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Good Father

A Novel

by Noah Hawley

The Good Father by Noah Hawley X
The Good Father by Noah Hawley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Mar 2012, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jan 2013, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Parents of Young Killers

Print Review

Parents of young adults who are accused of murder are confronted with an intense emotional minefield and have, in many cases, reported experiencing feelings ranging from guilt and shame to horror and despair. Susan Klebold, whose son Dylan, alongside classmate Eric Harris, carried out the massacre of 13 people at Columbine High School in 1999 has stated, "For the rest of my life, I will be haunted by the horror and anguish Dylan caused... Dylan changed everything I believed about myself, about God, about family, and about love." Susan Klebold's description of raising her son, how she learned about the atrocities perpetrated by her offspring, and her intense and crippling battle with depression and guilt in the aftermath, make the possibility of a normal parent having to deal with an unexpected terror frighteningly real. She describes her extreme humiliation, noting that in one newspaper survey, "83 percent of respondents said that the parents' failure to teach Dylan and Eric proper values played a major part in the Columbine killings" and that "our elected officials stated publicly that bad parenting was the cause of the massacre."

The human desire to seek causality, coupled with the perennially frenzied state of the mass media, can lead to an intense and sudden growth of rage and blame. That cultural anger commonly finds its way to the doorstep of a killer's parents, where it might be expected that parenting should be scrutinized, failure determined, and blame assessed. This may be a rational pursuit in some cases, however, in many such situations, the violent youths suffer from severe mental illnesses. According to the U.S. Secret Service Safe School Initiative, 78% of school attackers have a history of suicide attempts or suicidal thoughts, and 61% of the attackers have a documented history of feeling extremely depressed or desperate.

After the shooting of Arizona state representative Gabrielle Giffords by Jared Lee Loughner, who killed six people and injured 14 on January 8, 2011, a federal judge ruled that Jared Loughner was not mentally competent to stand trial and ordered him to a facility for treatment. He has since been forced by law to take psychotropic drugs as part of a treatment for schizophrenia, having been committed to a federal prison hospital. (While psychiatrists once thought that poor parenting could cause a person to become schizophrenic, the biological roots of schizophrenia have become better understood, and the disorder is now characterized more accurately as a brain disorder than an emotional illness. However, other relevant factors in its development, including psychosocial factors, are not well understood.)

The topic of parental responsibility and experience upon learning a child has committed murder has seen significant attention in film. Beautiful Boy (2010), starring Maria Bello and Michael Sheen, explores the difficult path faced by two parents who learn that their 18 year old son has committed mass murder on a college campus before killing himself. Beyond dealing with their immense grief and the consequences that the shooting has on their marriage, Bello and Sheen must endure scathing public media attention. As has been observed in many such situations, including the aftermath of the Loughner shooting in Arizona, public reaction can swing from scorn to pity to apathy and back at an unpredictable tempo.

Another recent film, We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011), based on the novel by Lionel Shriver, is a meditation on the interaction between a mother's struggle with a violent young son. Along with the apparent increase in the frequency of senseless acts of violence, artistic works have arisen in order to tackle the particularly delicate and often incredibly complicated dynamics that ensue when a child commits murder.

Click on the video below to learn about Susan Kelbold's response to her son's violent acts.

This article was originally published in April 2012, and has been updated for the January 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.