The Kincaid/James Series: Background information when reading No Mark Upon Her

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

No Mark Upon Her

A Novel

by Deborah Crombie

No Mark Upon Her by Deborah Crombie X
No Mark Upon Her by Deborah Crombie
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2012, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2013, 384 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The Kincaid/James Series

Print Review

Newcomers to Deborah Crombie's mystery series agree that it is not necessary to have read the previous books to appreciate No Mark Upon Her, but for those who like to read in series order, or who at least would like to know what came before, here's a quick overview:

Deborah CrombieThe Author
Born and raised in and around Dallas, Texas, Deborah Crombie (b. 1952) fell in love with Britain during a post-university trip. Later, having married her first husband, Scotsman Peter Crombie, she spent some years living in Scotland and England before returning to Dallas. She wrote the first Kincaid/James novel in 1993 while working in the family business and raising her daughter. She still lives in Texas with her husband Rick Wilson and travels to England several times a year.

The Characters
Scotland Yard Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and Sergeant Gemma James. Their professional and personal relationships evolve with the series.

The Settings
The fourteen books to date have seen Kincaid and James travel all over the United Kingdom from rural Yorkshire to surburban Surrey, by way of locations such as Cambridge, Glastonbury, the Scottish Highlands and various parts of London.

Series Order

  1. A Share in Death
  2. All Shall Be Well
  3. Leave the Grave Green
  4. Mourn Not Your Dead
  5. Dreaming of the Bones
  6. Kissed a Sad Goodbye
  7. A Finer End
  8. And Justice There is None
  9. Now May You Weep
  10. In a Dark House
  11. Water Like a Stone
  12. Where Memories Lie
  13. Necessary as Blood
  14. No Mark Upon Her
  15. The Sound of Breaking Glass, (2013)

This article was originally published in February 2012, and has been updated for the February 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.