Daniel Kahneman: Background information when reading Thinking, Fast and Slow

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Thinking, Fast and Slow

by Daniel Kahneman

Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Oct 2011, 512 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2013, 512 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Beverly Melven

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Daniel Kahneman

Print Review

Daniel Kahneman is a Nobel Prize-winning psychologist who, along with Amos Tversky, revolutionized economic theory in the 1970s and is widely regarded as one of the world's most influential living psychologist.

David KahnemanBorn in Tel Aviv in 1934 to Lithuanian Jewish parents, Kahneman grew up in Paris, during which time his father was taken by Nazis in one of the first "round ups" of Jewish prisoners. Though he was later released, Kahneman's family spent the rest of the war years ill at ease in their surroundings. In 1948, four years after his father passed away from diabetes, Kahneman and his family moved to Palestine (which, on May 14, 1948, would become Israel). While there, he experienced a period of great social growth and intellectual stimulation.

He studied psychology and mathematics in Israel, receiving his first degree from Hebrew University in Jerusalem, and spent a portion of his required military service developing some of his first ideas regarding humans and their decision-making. By 1955 Kahneman had been given the task of conducting military officer candidate assessments for the Israel Defense Forces - a job that inspired his interests in cognitive behavior. In 1958 he and his wife, Irah, moved to San Francisco to begin work as graduate students at Berkeley. Years of learning, teaching, and researching later, he began his long-term collaboration with Amos Tversky (a fellow psychologist who died of cancer in 1996) in a period that Kahneman describes as his most rewarding professional association.

In addition to the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, Kahneman has won the Grawemeyer Award for Psychology (both jointly with Tversky), the American Psychological Association's Award for Outstanding Lifetime Achievement, and has made the Bloomberg 50 Most Influential People in Global Finance in 2011.

Kahneman is a senior scholar and faculty member emeritus at both Princeton University and Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, a fellow at Hebrew University and a Gallup Senior Scientist. He is now married to Anne Treisman, a fellow professor of psychology at Princeton.

For more information, watch the video below of Daniel Kahneman discussing "The Riddle of Experience vs. Memory" (based on material from Thinking, Fast and Slow) at a TED convention in February 2010.

Article by Beverly Melven

This article was originally published in January 2012, and has been updated for the April 2013 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.