Freeganism: Background information when reading The Astral

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Astral

A Novel

by Kate Christensen

The Astral by Kate Christensen X
The Astral by Kate Christensen
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jun 2011, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2012, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Lisa Guidarini
Buy This Book

About this Book

Freeganism

This article relates to The Astral

Print Review

In The Astral, the Quirk's daughter Karina is a practicing "freegan" - a term that comes from a fusion of the words "free" and "vegan" (although not all freegans are vegans) - and as such, she chooses to eschew conventional consumerism. recycling symbol Often referred to as "dumpster divers," freegans generally believe that western society throws away too many useable goods - including food - and they consciously limit their participation in the current, profit-driven economic system. This wasteful mentality, they explain, increases the need for more landfills, leaches pollution into ground water, and threatens an already compromised environment; once a dump is full, more must be built, and open land is transformed into unsightly and health-threatening garbage heaps.

In response, freegans choose to boycott this way of life and follow a few specific, ethical principles. According to Freegan.Info, these principles include:

  • reclaiming waste: foraging for food whenever possible
  • minimizing waste: repairing, reusing, recycling, and composting products
  • finding eco-friendly transportation: using alternate means of getting around, e.g. train hopping, hitchhiking, walking, skating, and biking
  • living in rent free housing: rehabilitating abandoned buildings and squatting in these spaces
  • going green: turning empty lots into community garden plots
  • working less: reducing the amount of stress we feel by freeing ourselves from the need to consume

They turn other people's garbage into usable goods; as restaurants and markets toss out still-edible fruits, vegetables, and meats because they don't meet "perfect" requirements, the food becomes fair game for a freegan. In The Astral, Karina supplements her "dumpster diet" with store-bought organic food, which, many freegans would agree, is a reasonable way to ensure getting proper nutrition. Likewise, community gardens allow people to share in their quest for sustainable food sources with others who follow in their footsteps.

Some find the freegan lifestyle extreme. Rooting through garbage is, admittedly, an unhygienic activity. On the other hand, we know that at some point waste management will become unsustainable; land is not an unlimited resource. The principles of the freegan movement seem pertinent, and this reviewer believes it's certainly worthwhile to listen to what they have to say.

To read one woman's account of her experiences as a "dumpster diver," check out the Sierra Club article entitled "My Life as a Diver."

Article by Lisa Guidarini

This "beyond the book article" relates to The Astral. It originally ran in September 2011 and has been updated for the June 2012 paperback edition.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...
  • Book Jacket: Disappearing Earth
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips
    On the remote peninsula of Kamchatka—tucked away on the far eastern corner of Russia and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Island of Sea Women
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.