Siobhán Parkinson: Background information when reading Long Story Short

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Long Story Short

by Siobhan Parkinson

Long Story Short by Siobhan Parkinson X
Long Story Short by Siobhan Parkinson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jun 2011, 160 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Siobhán Parkinson

Print Review

Siobhán Parkinson On May 11, 2010, Siobhán Parkinson (pronounced sh-vawn) became the first Irish Children's Literature Laureate (aka Laureate Na nÓg) ever. (Na nÓg is an Irish term meaning "the young" or "young people"). Held for two years, the main purpose of the position is to expose youths to good, high quality children's literature and to weave it into Ireland's culture. Siobhán said of what she hopes to achieve:

"[That] every child in the country has access to a nice, bright, warm, cheerful, comfortable library, where they can go and find the books that will open their minds and bring them into wonderful imaginary places. That sense of excitement and joy about books I want every child to have... I believe that children's literature lays the foundations of the imaginative life of a people, and that every child deserves to have access to a reading haven."

With more than twenty books in print - for adults, young adults, middle graders and children - and as an active advocate for the importance of children's literature, Siobhán Parkinson was a natural choice for Laureate Na nÓg. Her books have been translated into numerous languages (Danish, German, Slovenian, Thai, and Japanese, to name a few), and she has won countless awards, including the Bisto Book of the Year, which is a top Irish literary honor, presented to selected children's authors and illustrators who are either born in or residents of Ireland.

Siobhán is visually impaired, but, of course, it doesn't stop her from writing. Using a large-screened monitor and a voice program on her computer to read what she has written back to her, Siobhán remains a prolific and passionate author. (And funny, just like Jono!)

Her novel Long Story Short was first published as Bruised in Ireland by Hodder Children's Books (2011); her other works include The Love Bean (2002), Breaking The Wishbone (2000), and Sisters - No Way! (1998). She is also a publisher for an imprint of New Island Books called Little Island, which specializes in quality fiction and books in translation for children and teens. It was her brainchild; she had been co-editing a journal of international children's literature and lamented that there weren't enough foreign books available to Irish youths. Edwin Higel, publisher of New Island Books, suggested that she start an imprint to do just that. So she did!

Siobhán can read and translate German (and has done so twice for Little Island), and she can also write in Irish. She studied English literature and German at Trinity College, Dublin, where she earned her PhD in 1981. She's experienced with and interested in teaching creative writing, and is especially drawn to helping children with special needs.

In the video below, Siobhán Parkinson discusses her passion for storytelling, the writing process, and her upcoming literary projects.

Article by Tamara Smith

This article is from the August 4, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.