Dr. Nick Trout: Background information when reading Ever By My Side

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ever By My Side

A Memoir in Eight Acts Pets

by Dr. Nick Trout

Ever By My Side by Dr. Nick Trout X
Ever By My Side by Dr. Nick Trout
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 320 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2012, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Dr. Nick Trout

Print Review

Veterinary surgeon and New York Times bestselling author Dr. Nick Trout is beloved among readers and is often compared to the late English veterinary surgeon James Herriot, author of the classic memoir All Creatures Great and Small. In an interview with Boston Magazine, Dr. Trout describes his feelings about this comparison:

I grew up reading James Herriot, and was fortunate to meet the man himself when I was a kid and my parents lived in the heart of Herriot country, in the Yorkshire Dales. There will only be one James Herriot and no one else will ever come close. I can only try to bring his stories into the 21st century and, in doing so, try to point out that the humor and the pathos of Herriot's novels, the passion to heal sick animals, the quirky and charming characters, still exists in today's veterinary medicine.

It is clear that Dr. Trout's writing shares Herriot's compassion and sense of humor - not only in Ever By My Side but in his prior works as well:

Tell Me Where it Hurts His first book, Tell Me Where It Hurts (2008) describes what it's like being behind the scenes as a veterinarian at Angell Animal Medical Center in Boston. He explains how innovative technology in the field of medicine - including the invention of the internet - has changed pet care over time, and he evaluates the benefits and costs of such changes. Touching and often comical anecdotes (about pets and their owners) illustrate the realities of and, ultimately, the love that goes in to being a vet.

Love Is the Best Medicine In his second book, Love Is the Best Medicine (2010), Dr. Trout tells the story of Helen, an abandoned (and stinky) cocker spaniel that is rescued by a loving family. She adapts to and enjoys the doggie high life until it is discovered that she has a tumor, and her odds of surviving are not good. All the while, a 14-month-old miniature pinscher named Cleo repeatedly fractures her bones and is in need of a routine surgery. Unexpectedly, these two stories intersect, and everyone, including Dr. Trout, learns a lesson about hope, healing and the power of connection.

To hear an interview with Dr. Nick Trout, check out NPR's Fresh Air with Terry Gross.

This article was originally published in March 2011, and has been updated for the February 2012 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.