Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Dangerous Edge of Things

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dangerous Edge of Things

A Tai Randolph Mystery

by Tina Whittle

The Dangerous Edge of Things by Tina Whittle X
The Dangerous Edge of Things by Tina Whittle
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2011, 250 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 250 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Cindy Anderson

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Traumatic Brain Injury
Tai's fellow investigator and sometimes-bodyguard, Trey Seaver, is coping with the cognitive changes resulting from Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) that he received in a car accident which damaged his frontal lobe. While he has no lasting motor skill injuries, he is unable to display a normal range of emotions, and can be "triggered" into a violent state when threatened. In addition, while his memory of recent events has improved (in fact his memory seems to be near-eidetic), he often cannot think of a particular word, and has trouble remembering anything before the accident, including his own personality. The upside of the accident is that he has developed a new talent - the ability to read people's body language and know whether or not they are being deceptive; and, because he cannot remember what he used to like, or dislike, he has created a new snappier style lifted from the pages of a GQ magazine.

How realistic is this fictional portrayal?

While no two cases of TBI are the same, The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke notes that after brain trauma, "common disabilities include problems with cognition (thinking, memory, and reasoning), sensory processing (sight, hearing, touch, taste, and smell), communication (expression and understanding), and behavior or mental health (depression, anxiety, personality changes, aggression, acting out, and social inappropriateness).

The United States Centers for Disease Control estimates that 1.7 million people in the U.S. sustain a traumatic brain injury each year. While most of these are mild, about 20% of injuries require hospitalization and about 52,000 die as a result of the brain injury. Injury occurs because the brain is not anchored inside the skull but floats on fluid which, in the normal course of events, protects the brain admirably; but, in the event of a traumatic blow, is not sufficient to prevent the brain from hitting the inside of the skull leading to potential bruising, swelling and bleeding; which in turn can lead to countless secondary complications.

In the novel, Tai wonders about the term "Glasgow Coma Scale" when she spies it in Trey's purloined medical file. The Glasgow Coma Scale is a commonly used diagnostic tool that helps to determine the likelihood of a brain injury patient's survival, as well as their ability to function later. The patient's responses are rated in three areas: Motor Response, Verbal Response and Eye Opening. A total score of 9-12, for example, would indicate moderate disability, but a score of less than 3 would indicate a vegetative state. Although we do not learn what Trey's score was immediately after his accident, the book's description of his 5-day coma and lasting symptoms would probably put his injury in the moderate category.

However, Ms. Whittle seems to have exercised some creative license with Trey when it comes to his newly found ability to read body language and tell truth from lies. In particular, it does not appear to be common for TBI patients to develop new talents, especially if they did not have some level of skill in that particular area prior to the accident. In fact, many TBI patients with Trey's injuries find it challenging to learn new skills; although, of course, some (like Trey) do manage to surprise their own doctors with their ability to heal from a traumatic injury.

Article by Cindy Anderson

This article is from the February 3, 2011 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.