Who is Cath Crowley?: Background information when reading A Little Wanting Song

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

A Little Wanting Song

by Cath Crowley

A Little Wanting Song by Cath Crowley
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2010, 272 pages
    Paperback:
    Oct 2011, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Who is Cath Crowley?

Print Review

A Little Wanting Song left me wanting to know more about author Cath Crowley, but the biographical information immediately at hand was a little light, so I did some digging....

Cath Crowley is an Australian children's author. She was born in 1971 and grew up in a rural part of Victoria (SE Australia) with three brothers and a dog.

Although she told stories all the time, she never wrote any of them down and did not plan on being a writer. Then she moved to Europe and began writing letters to her brother, Anthony Crowley. Her letters were a sort of journal and she even wrote "Don't tell anyone this" at the top of them. Anthony did not quite heed her request. When she came back home she discovered that he had used her letters to create a musical, The Journey Girl, which was performed at three theaters in Melbourne! This experience, Cath says, is what convinced her that she wanted to become a writer.

Her first book, The Life and Times of Gracie Faltrain, was published in 2004 and was quite successful. She has written five other books since, two of which are part of the Gracie Faltrain series.

A Little Wanting Song, a stand-alone novel and Cath's US debut, was published in Australia in 2005 under the name Chasing Charlie Duskin. She revised it for US readers, which gave her the unusual opportunity to go back and edit a story that was already finished - an experience she enjoyed. She says in an interview, "in the US version, Charlie still wants things, but she has a stronger sense of self. She's a bit sassier. A bit cooler." The American version also includes song lyrics written by Charlie and more details about the characters.

Like A Little Wanting Song, Cath Crowley's latest book, Graffiti Moon, is told from multiple points of view. Currently only available in Australia (the US version is due out February 2012), it follows four teenagers as they discover - in an action-packed 24 hours - who they are and who they want to be.

Article by Tamara Smith

This article was originally published in September 2010, and has been updated for the October 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.