Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Chosen One

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Chosen One

by Carol Lynch Williams

The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2009, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BJ Nathan Hegedus

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The Lost Boys
While The Chosen One focuses primarily on the plight of Kyra, a young girl growing up in an unspecified polygynous fundamentalist community, it also explores the issue of the 'lost boys'.

The lost boys is a term used to describe young men raised within polygynous Mormon sects such as the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (FLDS) who, being deemed unfit, are forced out of the community. While a handful of boys leave of their own volition, the vast majority are excommunicated for what is deemed sinful conduct. This includes such actions as watching television, listening to music, wearing short-sleeved shirts or talking to girls.

It appears that the real motivating factor at play here is the shortage of girls and the surplus of boys due to the practice of polygyny. For example, FLDS doctrine states that men must marry a minimum of three wives to get into heaven, and they are expected to produce as many children as possible. It is common practice for these “celestial marriages” to take place between young girls and middle aged men.

Primarily located in southern Utah and Arizona, FLDS enclaves are remote and isolated. In some cases boys as young as thirteen have literally been turned out onto desolate roads with only the clothes on their backs.  Most youngsters have been home schooled with minimal formal education and few life skills. Their exposure beyond their own environment is almost nil making them ill prepared for functioning in the outside world.

Adding to the trauma of their ordeal, the boys are informed that they are now dead to their families and contact is forbidden. Because FLDS doctrine teaches that plural marriage is the only way into heaven, the lost boys are additionally burdened with the belief that not only are they banned from their families on earth, but they will not be allowed into heaven and are bound for hell. Many boys, unable to cope with an ordeal encompassing so much emotional and physical trauma, turn to drugs and alcohol.

A good resource for information on the lost boys and their plight is the 2010 documentary, Sons of Perdition. Film makers Tyler Measom and Jennilyn Merten delved into the lives of four lost boys over a four year period. Their heartbreaking film brings deep insight into the appalling situation these young men are suddenly thrust into and how they try to cope and make their way.



Interesting Links

This article is from the September 8, 2010 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access become a member today.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.