Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Chosen One

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Chosen One

by Carol Lynch Williams

The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams X
The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2009, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Aug 2010, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BJ Nathan Hegedus

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

The Lost Boys
While The Chosen One focuses primarily on the plight of Kyra, a young girl growing up in an unspecified polygynous fundamentalist community, it also explores the issue of the 'lost boys'.

The lost boys is a term used to describe young men raised within polygynous Mormon sects such as the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (FLDS) who, being deemed unfit, are forced out of the community. While a handful of boys leave of their own volition, the vast majority are excommunicated for what is deemed sinful conduct. This includes such actions as watching television, listening to music, wearing short-sleeved shirts or talking to girls.

It appears that the real motivating factor at play here is the shortage of girls and the surplus of boys due to the practice of polygyny. For example, FLDS doctrine states that men must marry a minimum of three wives to get into heaven, and they are expected to produce as many children as possible. It is common practice for these “celestial marriages” to take place between young girls and middle aged men.

Primarily located in southern Utah and Arizona, FLDS enclaves are remote and isolated. In some cases boys as young as thirteen have literally been turned out onto desolate roads with only the clothes on their backs.  Most youngsters have been home schooled with minimal formal education and few life skills. Their exposure beyond their own environment is almost nil making them ill prepared for functioning in the outside world.

Adding to the trauma of their ordeal, the boys are informed that they are now dead to their families and contact is forbidden. Because FLDS doctrine teaches that plural marriage is the only way into heaven, the lost boys are additionally burdened with the belief that not only are they banned from their families on earth, but they will not be allowed into heaven and are bound for hell. Many boys, unable to cope with an ordeal encompassing so much emotional and physical trauma, turn to drugs and alcohol.

A good resource for information on the lost boys and their plight is the 2010 documentary, Sons of Perdition. Film makers Tyler Measom and Jennilyn Merten delved into the lives of four lost boys over a four year period. Their heartbreaking film brings deep insight into the appalling situation these young men are suddenly thrust into and how they try to cope and make their way.



Interesting Links

This article is from the September 8, 2010 issue of BookBrowse Recommends. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.