Mormon Fundamentalists: Background information when reading The Lonely Polygamist

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lonely Polygamist

by Brady Udall

The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall X
The Lonely Polygamist by Brady Udall
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2010, 602 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2011, 608 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Donna Chavez

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
Mormon Fundamentalists

Print Review

Estimates of the number of Mormon fundamentalists residing in the western United States, Canada and Mexico range from 20,000 to 60,000 (compared with over 10 million mainstream Mormons worldwide). Although there are numerous sects, the largest two are the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (FLDS Church) and the Apostolic United Brethren (AUB). They each have 9,000 to 10,000+ members and both are headquartered in Utah, although the AUB also has a temple in Mexico. Not all sects espouse multiple marriage although many do. Exact numbers are hard to come by but it is thought that fewer than 15,000 are practicing polygamists.

Indeed, fundamentalist Mormons eschew the term "polygamy" as it implies multiple spouses, regardless of gender. Instead they favor the term "polygyny," meaning multiple wives. Even so, they rarely use either term, opting instead to refer to the practice as "The Principle" or "Celestial Marriage." In spite of the view that polygyny is the key difference between fundamentalist Mormonism and mainstream Mormonism it is believed that most members of fundamentalist sects are in fact monogamous, and further it is thought that fully three-quarters have never been members of the mainstream Mormon (LDS) church.

Still, the practice of polygyny is illegal and thus its practitioners are generally forced to keep their lifestyle a secret. Such secrecy has given rise to much fictional speculation. Not the least of which is the recent HBO series, Big Love. Previous representations include the 1987 Charles Bronson movie Messenger of Death and the 1981 television drama Child Bride of Short Creek. But there is some stuff that can't be made up, such as the conviction of Warren Jeffs, former president of the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (FLDS), for sex crimes resulting from the polygamous marriages he arranged for his followers. Marriages that often paired minor brides with adult husbands.

For the most part, fundamentalists regard mainstream Mormonism as an offshoot of the original Church founded by Joseph Smith in the 1830s and 1840s. Smith preached multiple marriage as the way to gain access to, and elevate one's status in, heaven because Smith preached that Jesus Christ was not only married but a polygynist. The Mormon Church discontinued the practice of multiple marriage after an 1890 "Manifesto" declared an end to it.

For additional information on Fundamental Mormonism or on Warren Jeffs:
Dialogue: A Journal of Mormon Thought
Time magazine

Article by Donna Chavez

This article was originally published in July 2010, and has been updated for the May 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.