The History of The Hardy Boys: Background information when reading The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin

by Josh Berk

The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk X
The Dark Days of Hamburger Halpin by Josh Berk
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2010, 256 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2011, 256 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Tamara Smith

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book:
The History of The Hardy Boys

Print Review

Shortly after Will and Devon begin investigating the mysterious death of their high school quarterback, they name themselves the Hardy Boys. Here they are texting as they create this new identity:

Smiley_Man3000: With all the inside info I get from my dad and your big brain, we can solve this Chambers thing!

HamburgerHalpin: what r we? The freakin' hardy boys?

Smiley_Man3000: Yeah! I'll be Frank. I think he was the one with the dark hair.

HamburgerHalpin: good. u b frank. now which one was the fat one?

The Hardy Boys mystery series was created in 1926 by Edward Stratemeyer, who founded the Stratemeyer Syndicate, a book packaging firm. (Stratemeyer also created the Bobbsey Twins and Nancy Drew). He hired Canadian writer Leslie McFarlane to ghostwrite the first volumes of the Hardy Boys books. They were instantly successful - by mid-1929 over 115,000 copies had been sold. Stratemeyer hired many writers after McFarlane to ghostwrite - including McFarlane's wife - and the formula for writing the books was always the same: the Syndicate created a detailed outline of the story, the ghostwriter would write the story, and finally the Syndicate would edit it. And always, no matter who wrote the book, the pen name Franklin W. Dixon was used. Cartoons, TV dramas, video games and countless other spin-off series and merchandise have been created over the years, and there are close to 400 titles in the various book series - including two more modernized series: The Casefiles and The Undercover Brothers.

The Hardy Boys series are said to be the best selling and longest running series for boys of all time. As of 2008, over a million copies of the books were selling every year, and over 70 million copies of Hardy Books have been sold worldwide. What has made them so unbelievably popular? Many people believe it's because they indulge their readers' wish-fulfillment needs. The books bring their readers on a wide variety of adventures beyond what would realistically be possible, yet the two detective brothers - Joe and Frank Hardy - are your average, relatable teenage boys.

Article by Tamara Smith

This article was originally published in April 2010, and has been updated for the June 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.