Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Dream of Perpetual Motion

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Dream of Perpetual Motion

A Novel

by Dexter Palmer

The Dream of Perpetual Motion by Dexter Palmer X
The Dream of Perpetual Motion by Dexter Palmer
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2010, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Feb 2011, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Cindy Anderson

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Is Perpetual Motion Just a "Dream?"
In The Dream of Perpetual Motion, Prospero claims to have created a perpetual motion engine that can run his Zeppelin indefinitely; supposedly, it will never run out of energy, and will never need a new influx of energy. Is that possible in the real world? According to scientists, no. That doesn't mean that mankind hasn't tried to produce such a machine; in fact we have evidence of attempts going back to the Renaissance.

In order for anything to be a "perpetual motion" device, it must be a closed system (one that, once started, does not need to be "fed" any kind of fuel, or acted upon by anything outside of itself). If you have ever seen one of those "drinking birds" with the red liquid at the bottom (that dip their heads into a glass of water and then swing upright again) you may think you have seen an example of perpetual motion. However, you'd be mistaken. The bird moves because the liquid in its bulb heats up at room temperature, causing the liquid to be pushed up into the bird's head, which tips its balance and makes it head swing down into a glass of water. The outside of the head is made of felt, which absorbs the water, cooling and condensing the liquid inside the head. The liquid flows back down the tube, and the bird moves into the upright position again. Since an outside source (temperature variation) causes both of these reactions to occur, the bird is not a closed system.

The challenge with the concept of a perpetual motion engine is that, according to the Second Law of Thermodynamics, anything powered by heat energy has to lose a little of that energy in order for the rest to be used by the device to "produce" something (power, motion, wind etc.). It is simply a physical limitation of the universe that a portion of any heat energy used to produce work, or operate an engine, will become "usable" energy, while some will be expelled as unusable energy, or as energy that is so much less efficient that it cannot be recycled to power the device. Were there an engine that could use all of the energy it took in to produce mechanical energy, it would be labeled 100% efficient. However, according to practice and the laws of physics, no engine can be 100% efficient.

For a hydrogen engine in a Zeppelin to be perpetual, the engine would have to be both producing/expelling usable hydrogen and consuming equally "potent" usable hydrogen back into itself. However, the laws of physics, as we understand them, don't permit that to happen.

Article by Cindy Anderson

This article was originally published in April 2010, and has been updated for the February 2011 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.