MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Beyond the Book: Background information when reading Homer & Langley

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Homer & Langley

by E.L. Doctorow

Homer & Langley by E.L. Doctorow X
Homer & Langley by E.L. Doctorow
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2009, 224 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2010, 224 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Natasha Vargas-Cooper
Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

This article relates to Homer & Langley

Print Review

The Real Homer and Langley
The Collyer brothers of Doctorow's novel, like many of his fictional characters, are based on historical personalities. Though he shifts the time-period up a few decades and re-imagines the brothers, the bones of the narrative can be found in the headlines of decades past.
The real Homer Collyer (b. 1881) was found dead in his dilapidated Fifth Avenue mansion in Harlem in 1943. Homer and his younger brother Langley (b. 1885) had become infamous in Manhattan for their exorbitant wealth and reclusive lifestyle during the early 1930’s. For close to two decades neighbors and municipal officers tried to have the brothers evicted due to their refusal to dispose of rubbish and pay taxes, but the two remained in their brownstone their entire lives. Eventually living without water, power, or plumbing, it was up to Langley to scavenge subsistence for the two. The newspapers regularly covered the habits and eccentricities of the Collyer brothers throughout the decade before their death.

Homer’s malnourished body was discovered by police after a neighbor reported a fouler-than-usual stench. When the police came into investigate they found Homer’s body in a tiny room overstuffed with newspapers and junk. Langley, however, was nowhere to be found, and a manhunt was launched. Meanwhile, the police spent weeks clearing out 103 tons of junk in order to search for clues. They removed: glass chandeliers, bowling balls, camera equipment, the folding top of a horse-drawn carriage, human organs pickled in jars, more than 25,000 books, 8 live cats, the chassis of an old Model T, 14 pianos, banjos, violins, bugles, accordions, and countless stacks of newspapers and magazines.

After three weeks of clearing the house, a workman found Langley’s decomposed body ten feet away from where Homer had died. Police determined that Langley had been crawling through the stacks of newspapers to bring food to his brother when he was crushed and killed by a booby trap of his own design (made out of bundles of newspapers and suitcases). With Langley dead, Homer, blind and paralyzed, starved to death several days later.

When asked by the New York Observer a year before his death what he intended to do with his tons of newspaper bundles, Langley replied, "I am saving newspapers for Homer, so that when he regains his sight he can catch up on the news."

This "beyond the book article" relates to Homer & Langley. It originally ran in September 2009 and has been updated for the September 2010 paperback edition. Go to magazine.

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.