Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Last Secret

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Last Secret

A Novel

by Mary McGarry Morris

The Last Secret
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2009, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Apr 2010, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Mary McGarry Morris was born in Meriden, Connecticut in l943 and raised in Rutland, Vermont with three younger brothers.  She was educated at Mount Saint Joseph Academy in Rutland, the University of Vermont, and the University of Massachusetts.  She is married to Michael W. Morris, an attorney, and is the mother of five children, and grandmother of twelve.  She lives on the North Shore in Massachusetts.

Her first novel, Vanished, was published in 1988. Written over a ten-year period with only her husband and children aware of her writing effort, it was rejected twenty-seven times before an agent, Jean Naggar, helped her sell it to Viking Press - it went on to be nominated for the National Book Award and the PEN/Faulkner Award; Jean Naggar is still her agent today.

A Dangerous Woman was published in 1991 and was chosen by Time magazine as one of the "Five Best Novels of the Year."  It was made into a motion picture starring Debra ...

Members Only

BookBrowse's reviews and backstories are a members-only benefit. Full information is available on books for a limited time when they are featured as "Editor's Choices" - but that time has now elapsed for this book.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.